We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desert Cave Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Opal Inn(Coober Pedy)
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
USD 116
USD 112
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
68
111
51
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
111
51
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground roomabove groundno liftmini barunderground tunnelhistorical displaysflights of stairsopal shoplamb shankhotel roomunique experienceopal fieldsthe main streetsleeping undergroundbottle of winestayed one nightcrystal
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Underground studio with ensuite - was very nice but the rock walls and ceiling made it quite special. Laundry facilities available, also restaurant & cafe. Informative & interesting viewing gallery underground featuring historical pictures & written dialogue outlining the birth of Coober Pedy as the opal capital. Tarif was $180 for the night. Well worth it - the opinion of both my husband & I

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank davemoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear davemoana,
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review on your recent stay with us. Happy to read you stayed in an underground room and enjoyed our facilities.
Looks like you got a great rate for the night as well.
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

A big shout out loud to Grace from STA travel who enabled us to have the amazing experience of sleeping underground in this very interesting hotel .. a must do
And for Groovey Grape to get us here
The walls and rooms are craved out of solid rock !!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Deborah,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Happy to read you enjoyed the underground experience.
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and the experience was superb. Got to say that those Sri Lankan boys in the reception are the best. If you need to know what to do, where to eat etc, these boys will help you out.

Love the hotel. If you are staying, 1st thing to do is walk around the hotel. Its lovely.

We all love the underground room experience. Its unique.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Strikeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Strikeee,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. I'm glad our staff were able to look after you, and you enjoyed your time here. The undferground rooms can certainly be a memorable expereince. Will pass your comments onto the team.
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay in the accommodation but we had a wonderful dinner there and the next day did a little shopping and had a coffee in the beautiful cafe. The lovey lady at Opalis on main st told us to go there even though we weren't guests we could still enjoy what it had to offer.
The restaurant was wonderful, service was fantastic and very professional. The food was so good ( preset menu of soup and lamb shanks was the bomb) heaps of food choices plus a great kids menu.
The cafe and gift shop was lovely the next day. Great set up
All underground and cut out of the hill. There was more choice of touristy things in the gift shop and less opals. If I had been child free I would have loved to check out the night life there as well as it looked really nice in the bar area.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Lena B,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Happy to read you enjoyed our facilities including our Restaurant Umbertos. Will pass your positive comments onto the team!
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Unique experience of living underground in this amazing moonlike landscape of the opal mining town of Coober Pedy. We visited as part of a Bill Peach tour flying in from Adelaide. It is an amazing landscape with old Mine areas and spectacular land formations at Breakaways with its yellows, reds, oranges and purples. We toured the local golf course where the locals have a sense of humour about the rocky course putting up a sign " keep off the grass"! In summer the temperature gets up to 45 degrees so 70% of the population live in "dugouts" built into the side of hills. The hotel is an excellent example of this. We found we slept very well in the complete dark and silence. There is a nice restaurant, cafe and opal shop at the hotel. The Umoona Opal Mine and Museum is next door and gives an excellent illustration of the process of mining and living underground. It also includes a wonderful fossil museum.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank coleman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear coleman22,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review on the Desert Cave Hotel, and the town 'Coober Pedy'. Glad you slept well in the underground rooms, as most people comment on the great sleep, due to no noise or light. Sounds like you got to enjoy the full Coober Pedy experience. A round of golf is highly recommended.
Happy travels!
Matt Coxon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews