We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outback underground experience”
Review of Desert Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The underground rooms were far better than those above ground, clean, quiet and very dark, but are showing there age. The hot water is slow arriving but we had been advised to be patient. The evening meals in the Umberto Diningroom were great, while breakfast and lunch in Crystal Cafe were good. The staff were most pleasant and helpful. The opal shop had a good range but I suggest that you also visit the shops across the road.
Considering that the township of Coobey Pedy is hundreds of miles from anywhere and in desert conditions, I thought the facilities. Our different tour drivers all had a passion for the town with considerable knowledge, each having lived there for decades.
The golf course ??, mines and churches were well worth seeing.

Room Tip: Underground bedroom were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiGrowingOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

I rcently stayed at the desert cave hotel in an 'above ground' room on a business trip. The room was clean, with a good shower, complimentary tea/coffee making and comfortable mattress for sleeep. Think of any country hotel and it was slightly above that basic standard, so given the remote location, quite good really!
The hotel did get noisy through the evening until midnight with cars and other guests coming and going throughout the night. I also had trouble with the airconditioning settings, only realising at about 1am, that while I was turning the temperature down to cool the room, it was on a 'heater' setting, so wasn't working perhaps this was my fault, but I couldn't find any instructions anywhere in the room (booklet told me that in a cave you don't need aircon, but my room wasn't a cave room).
The breakfast offerings were not great, if you're into eggs, then you'd be happy, but muesli, yoghurt etc was not featured.
If I went back to CP I would stay there again, but take some airplugs.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay underground, it will be quieter for a good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdeleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Having heard good reports we stayed 2 nights here in an underground room. This is an unusual hotel offering both above and under ground rooms and is unusual in that it has a quite large and detailed visual display area in one of the underground galleries providing historical information about opal mining in the area, types of opal and the construction of the hotel.

Room facilities were very good, very clean, well appointed, well maintained and the king size bed was very comfortable. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

Location is very central and we thought the cost was reasonable considering the high standard of the accommodation and facilities offered in what is still a remote location. Fuel and shopping discount vouchers were provided to us as guests.

Breakfasts and lunch in the coffee shop were good and surprisingly inexpensive (but don't order the pancakes !).

All told we were very impressed.

Room Tip: We were very happy in an underground room but if darkness or claustrophobia is a problem then the ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I think the price was a little high for where we were. The reception were very friendly. We enjoyed sleeping underground and even slept in for a change. We spent the afternoon in the underground bar while the kids played on the arcade games. Was not too pleased with the goings on of the bartender and a group of people who kept coming and going all the time. Umberto's restaurant is outdated and the food is all pre prepared junk that you would get at a theme park all you can eat buffet. I give my score based on the room, as I wouldn't give anything for the restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Underground might be nice, rooms are good but of course they have no windows! At least they are quiet. The above ground rooms are not soundproof. They are also a tad second rate in that they need upgrading. Tired is the word.

The bar is expensive, and it is tired as well. However, the breakfast being an inclusion, was of good quality even though the breakfasts do not start until 0700, a bit of a hindrance if you are heading north for a 7/8 hour drive.

Room Tip: If you are staying here only go underground, above ground is tired and not sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
200 reviews
1 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
274 reviews
2 km away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
373 reviews
0.5 km away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Cave Hotel

Address: Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $127 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Cave Hotel is the world's only underground international hotel. We're located at Coober Pedy, which since 1915 has lured those who seek the elusive opal, found in this vast outback semi-desert area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Cave Coober Pedy
Desert Cave Hotel Coober Pedy, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing