We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan ahead for pizza”

John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant
Price range: USD 8 - USD 23
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: John's Pizza Bar and Restaurant is a multi-award-winning establishment. It is a licensed, café-style, al-fresco restaurant located in the outback South Australian town of Coober Pedy, which specialises in providing locals and visitors alike with high quality, affordable dining and service.
Reviewed 17 July 2019 via mobile

Decided to go elsewhere when, on the first night, we were told at 6:30 there’d be a 2 hour wait. Phoned ordered ahead on the 2nd night, and Pizza was ready ( to takeaway) when we arrived. It was huge, pretty good and excellent value, but it was disheartening to see so many famines turning up and leaving because the wait was unacceptable.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank very_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 113 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2019

They just do a very good pizza given the location and the other options available in Coober Pedy. Though they did run out of Garlic Bread this time. We'll let them off !

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank AmongstMyselves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

Don’t be in a hurry. Took about 30-40 mins for 1 pizza which was nothing to write home about. Just another pizza. Nothing special. No idea about their “gluten free” ingredients for pizza base.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Bloomfield_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

Booked months in advance as we had visited before and knew that booking was a good idea. Even confirmed on the day. But when we got there our table wasn’t ready because a ‘time’ wasn’t recorded with my booking. (You’d think that might have been mentioned when I confirmed...or even called me if it was an issue )
Pre-ordering was recommended too...who knew?
Anyway, we waited (since there is no other option in Coober Pedy)
Our food was great, as before and there is a huge selection in the menu.
In summary..food great, pre book, confirm, pre order, especially if you want pizza...

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Katrina68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019 via mobile

The restaurant was pretty close to where we stayed. We called in a couple of times for coffee during the day - coffee was excellent and staff were friendly and obliging. We ate an evening meal there one night. They were very, very busy but the steak sandwich that I had was the best ever! I suggest that you order over the phone as there were lengthy waits due to the shere volume of customers. It was during school holidays so the whole town was buzzing. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Howard and Lind... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.