We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy”

John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: John's Pizza Bar and Restaurant is a multi-award-winning establishment. It is a licensed, café-style, al-fresco restaurant located in the outback South Australian town of Coober Pedy, which specialises in providing locals and visitors alike with high quality, affordable dining and service.
Reviewed 21 December 2018

Arrived late in Coober Pedy and this was the only place still serving - it markets itself as 'open til late' however at 9.05 they were only serving takeaway, and moaned about that despite the fact they were busy!
We waited about 20 mins for our pizza - a lamb and feta option - however on receiving the pizza it was swimming in grease. We also got home to find our tzatziki dip was missing.
On the plus side the large pizza was adequate for 3 hungry girls
Supposedly the 5th best pizza in Australia...I can name 5 better in Adelaide alone

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 305sophieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 160 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2018

It was busy for a Sunday night and we didn't have to wait too long for our meals. We choose two pizzas - Johns special and Hawaiian and the flavours were great. I had read many reviews about how good this place was and it didn't disappoint. The prices were higher than what we normally pay in Adelaide however I didn't think it was unreasonable.
Will eat there again if we get an opportunity.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018 via mobile

Very reasonably priced pizzas and excellent service. Indoor eat area is air conditioned to beat the outback heat. Must stop if travelling thru Cooper Pedy.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank G150FLstevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

We had a large half and half pizza and spaghetti for our family of four with a few slices left over for lunch. Food was good. Service was a little slow, but friendly. We sat outside and enjoyed the afternoon heat!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank HHinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2018

I spent more time picking my choice then it took to eat it ! A huge Menu of choice with burgers, yiros, salads, seafood, grills, pasta & pizzas !! Not the cheapest going around but we opted for take out and went back to our digs to enjoy with a wine & beer and no driving ! Better to be safe then sorry ! We ended up with fish of the day, chips, a Greek salad & John's Special Pizza,(number 14) but the dine in option looked good as well, maybe next visit ? My notes read "V V G" for the Pizza by the way !

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.