We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not From Naples”

John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: John's Pizza Bar and Restaurant is a multi-award-winning establishment. It is a licensed, café-style, al-fresco restaurant located in the outback South Australian town of Coober Pedy, which specialises in providing locals and visitors alike with high quality, affordable dining and service.
Reviewed 4 August 2018

The pizza was not one inspired by those in Naples sadly and the service also failed to be acceptable with one dish out of two overlooked.The decor was OK if basic but functional. Back to the pizza--they were big, the cheese was "soapy'' and just OK. Maybe volume was more significant that taste.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 204 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2018

My husband and I went to John's pizza bar in July 2018. It was a weekday but absolutely packed around 6.30-7pm. We sat outside, (in the cold) despite the one, or maybe two, vertical heaters outside. Still....weather is not their fault.
Ordering was ok, but I could see it was chaos. Lots of people, not eating, with numbers on their tables waiting for their order.
I ordered a Margherita Pizza, and my husband ordered Moussaka.
Finally, after about 50 minutes (in a pizza restaurant??) we finally ate.
My husband's moussaka was slopped onto his plate, and seriously, we both did a double take.
I'm not the best food presenter in the world, but I was pretty shocked. I've seen moussaka, nice squares of meaty dish. This was not that. More like a SLOSHY shepherds pie. To be fair he said it was fairly tasty, but it did not look nice. At all.
The low point was my margherita pizza. I think there was a few bits of tomato, perhaps canned tomato, or maybe fresh...not sure, but the lovely taste of reduced tomato pizza sauce was non existant. No basil. WHAT????? NONE. No onion taste, no garlic taste, no basil tase....no tomato taste AT ALL. Instead....a thick and leathery coating of ordinary cheese,...ergh. Just cheese and a cardboard crust.
Yuck. perhaps they are trying to makeup for the lack of 'real' topping with cheese? Seriously. Tomato paste, garlic, basil, mozzarella, ...that's what a margherita is. What I was served was a melted cheese sandwich.

I would not recommend anyone go to Johns. It was a waste of time and money and calories.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jaymay2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Was in town for night and went on recommendation. Great meals with plenty of options for all tastes. Garlic bread was awesome and pizza fantastic. Licensed and value for money in both food and drinks. Warm inside during cold winter night.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank clintonu2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Great pizza, delicious taste, crisp base , Lots of toppings to choose from, big pizza for the dollars paid- good value. Nice relaxed evening meal

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Leoni972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Didn’t have a booking but that was no problem at all, very busy but service was great. Staff very happy and friendly.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank nikkin883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.