We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Meetings & Team Building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Far North SA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Meetings & Team Building”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I've stayed here on several occasions both by myself during business trips and with my family. This is a great facility for those with children (bath, microwave and practically soundproof rooms for babies and small children) but there are a few stairs to be aware of. During several business trips we used the outdoor area for debriefing sessions, sorting & processing documents and meetings. Really can't recommend this place enough to do it justice. Ken & Ana are great hosts and the place is awesome.

Room Tip: Don't be pretentious - be a normal, friendly person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
97
153
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The better half and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid July with two friends. A very pleasant stay indeed: the underground accom is spacious, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. Not claustrophobic at all. The kitchen is well appointed and a pleasure to use. Room 1 has an en suite bathroom; we were in rooms 2 and 3 which share a bathroom: It was excellent. Upstairs and outside is an enormous partly-enclosed entertaining area with spa. We didn't use the outside area much as it was comparatively chilly at that time of year, but our travelling companions used the spa and loved it. Iwas told that in summer daytime air temperatures can reach 45 and ground temps reach 65, so the constant 20-odd degrees in the underground section would be bliss. Ken and Ana are most genial hosts, happy to help in whatever way they can. Ken does day tours to Lake Eyre and other parts: well worth investigating.

The underground section has a number of steps, so if you're not good with steps bear that in mind.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezlxq1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed two nights on a trip from Adelaide to Alice Springs and loved the place. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves, but would be fine if the other rooms were occupied. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Ana was away visiting her mother, but Ken was a superb host; gave us good advice on town attractions and restaurants. Ken also runs ANDO Tours and we had a brilliant day on the Painted Desert tour. After seeing The Breakaways, Moon Plain and the stunning Painted Desert, Ken's friend, Tony Williams, invited us to see cattle drafting on Mount Barry Station.
Without wishing bad luck on the farmers we must go back when it is dry. Will definitely stay here again, and maybe do the Heritage Tour.
Thanks Ken.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emptynestatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Our family spent one night here as a stopover from Uluru to Adelaide, it is a beautiful establishment, very clean and comfortable with all the facilities you would want. Ken is a great host, had a very good rapport with our 2 children (they loved the 'noodling' for opals). Would stay there again if we were to travel to Coober Pedy again and recommend it to anybody. I was particularly impressed with the soft pillows!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focene Mare - Rome
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We draw from Adelaide to Coober Pedy with our own car in order to get a break from the town and we got there in this little cosy B&B "in the middle of nowhere" as Coober Pedy is. The B&B is built in a dugout, how they call the houses here dig inside mother earth. Spend time entertaining yourself with Ken that knows more that you could imagine on mining Opals and he can bring you in places where nobody has been. Ana is the perfect connection between the Aussie spirit and the Mediterranean sense of taste. Just go there and ask to them, they will make your stay a marvelous experience and home away from home.
Corrado & Paola (Reggio Emilia + Focene Mare - Roma - Italy)

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrapaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.0 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.7 km away
Down to Erth B &B
Down to Erth B &B
#2 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.7 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Property: Underground Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price range (per night): $120 - $158
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underground Bed & Breakfast Coober Pedy, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing