We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Adelaide Secret”
Review of Maybe Mae

Maybe Mae
Ranked #2 of 38 Nightlife in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I went to Maybe Mae with a friend who struggled also to find the entrance. Small bar - quirky dark myserious feel - funky music. Service was quick - however was very crowded when we visited after midnight. It would have been more enjoyable slightly less crowded. Worth visiting just the for the challenge of finding the place. Groups any larger than 4 will not benefit from visiting during peak time due to restricted space.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Mara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

41 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2016

My first visit and had a great time. It does take a little finding, but worth it, its like a little secret. Staff very knowledgeable and out cocktails were great, my Louisiana Heat was right up my street -

Nice booths and music playing giving the place a nice vibe. Have been to a similar bar in San Francisco and it was packed and I was surprised how quiet Maybe Mae was, as everywhere else was busy - not complaining as we had the whole place to ourselves :)

I would absolutely go back for one of the Louisiana Heat cocktails!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank dj-daxadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Go through a hidden door at the bottom of Bread & Bone and you find yourself in a funky "speakeasy" bar. Leather booths, old school music, concise wine list and a heap of cocktails. Cool vibe underground bar away from hustle and bustle. Knowledgable staff - loved it!!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank 984natalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

This is one of the nicest small bars I have been to. Hard to find as the basement entrance is not signposted. The drink list is excellent and the bar guys are real experts. It is still a very friendly and cosy atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank NalinW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maybe Mae also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Maybe Mae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing