We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant restaurant offering scenic views over the River Torrens”
Review of River Cafe

River Cafe
Reserve with
River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 1,603 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 28
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1,330 reviews
753 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,045 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant offering scenic views over the River Torrens”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This is the companion restaurant to the Red Ochre (which is located on the upper level of the two storey building).

It's a pleasant restaurant, with a menu offering a range of steaks, seafood and pasta dishes.

I had the 600 gram T-bone. My friend had the fillet steak. Both were excellent.

For dessert, I had the apple and rhubarb crumble, which was attractively presented in a copper pan, with vanilla bean ice cream on the side.

The venue has an attractive anbience, overlooking the Torrens River.

Pricing is reasonable for the quality offered.

Recommended for a pleasant meal with business colleagues, family or friends.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    80
    41
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Big on expection ..did not deliver to expection”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Our visit was at the recommendation of a regular diner at the restaraunt. He and his wife were also present at our seating. There were 6 of us and all presented with a variety of palates ( always a great way to slice through the variety on the menu ).
A talkative group it was always going to be a little while before we ordered however to make the wine selection we all did our best to move it along. The Mitolo 'Jester' was selected and after sampling shared. One male continued on with his love of beer.
We all ordered. I was the only person to order entree.Could have been my mistake to order an entree as the others had a long wait for mains.

The King Salmon Carparcio was tasty if not a little confusing. More a salad than a Carparcio being ( in this case) a fish dish and not a meat dish( traditionally).
We were all bubbling along fine on 'The Jester' when the waitress dropped all the side plates that she had just collected from our table. She had seemed a bit ambitious collecting all the side plates and associated cutlery all in one go.
Everyone's head in the place turned at the enormity of the crash. She shrunk with embarassment.
Moving on, the commotion now a blip in the evening our mains were delivered. And assessed.
All were most pleased with the presentation and the fact there had been a long wait added to the anticipation.
Cross section of mains selected. ( I will add that the reason no one else had an entree was due to the high recommendation of the desserts).
Chateaubriande, 600 grm Coorong steak (med-rare), Paella, Tuna Steak -special, Blue swimmer crab Linguine, Twice cooked duck.
Of the offering the Chateaubriand was the stand out.($49.50)
The sides were good- especially the mushroom dish.
Another bottle of 'the Jester' to accompany the main meal.

The desserts as before mentioned were not as expected. Main recommender stated that the menu had changed and the desserts offered were different and maybe not as good as conceived.

Overall the location was good. The moon's display made an early night highlight with the quality of the company carrying the group's interest for the duration.
Uncomfortable chairs. Cold environment - people looking for jackets to keep warm later in the evening. Interruptive staff - their presence given more import than conversations that were mid stream.

The food was of the better than as should be expected of a restaurant called a 'cafe'

A pleasant evening but not a stand out.





Each person

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoelDPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A special occasion spoilt”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

It was my sister's 60th birthday and her first visit to Adelaide, both good reasons to splash out on a special meal. All went well at the River Cafe until one of our group said her food was very salty, the plate was replaced but with the same dish equally salty. We were told that nobody had ever complained about the dish and that all such restaurants serve their food heavily seasoned. Restaurants make mistakes (especially on chef's night off) it is how they manage problems that matter. We will not go back again.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dle1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Stunning venue and views with excellent food and service”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We had our wedding function on 7 November 2010 and had the best time along with all of our guests. Food and service was just exceptional. Many thanks to Nick and all of the team at River Cafe. Highly recommended for a meal or a special function. Mary and Rocco

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilu1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, service and views.”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My wife and I ate here on an evening when the restaurant was quiet and slightly lacking in atmosphere. However, the meal was excellent and the service from our waiter was extremely attentive and professional. Our table by the window overlooking the river afforded lovely views towards the city and contributed to a very enjoyable evening. Altogether a very pleasant experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Parkside, Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing