We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Birthday Dinner”
Review of Concubine

Concubine
Ranked #25 of 1,890 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Had heard nothing but good things about this place and did it live up to our expectations. Could not fault any of the dishes we ordered. The staff were lovely, the décor was lovely and the overall experience was fantastic.

We ordered:

Entrée:

Chicken sang choi bao lettuce wraps
Crispy squid salt & pepper style with chilli, apple & leaf salad
Smoked tea Duck Breast with sweet plum

Mains:

Master stock soy braised ‘Mahjong Chicken’ with spring onion & chilli
Silk Road ‘Xinjiang’ lamb fillet with cumin, black pepper & dried chilli
Chinese bok choy stirfry with oyster sauce
Cantonese style fried rice

My partner ordered the lamb and I wasn't sure what we would be expecting however I am glad it was ordered because it was an absolute star!!!

Would recommend this place and cannot wait to visit again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank elle87975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

A big thank you to Concubine staff this evening for letting us have the privilege of eating there this evening without a booking. The food, service, atmosphere was just fantastic. I highly recommend this restaurant, but best to book. We will do in future

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Sufficiently distracted by rarely seen friends on a recent Friday such that the kitchen just started bringing food out. None of it disappointed.

Courteous and prompt service. Will return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank bluemanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

I’ve been visiting Concubine for five years. Food is always fresh, tasty, creative and consistent. It is pricey but you get what you pay for. One of my favorites in Adelaide by far. Book to avoid disappointment. And if want to do a group booking enquirer about the secret room.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank nipper73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We enjoyed one of the restaurants banquets shared amongst 6 of us celebrating a reunion of friends. The restaurant has double sittings on Friday and Saturday nights, so with a 2 hour window the Shanghai style dinner was regularly delivered by the staff.
We supplemented the $48 per person banquet with a duck dish.
Our favorite dishes included the crispy squid and steamed prawn entrees. From the 7 main course dishes the SA king prawns and crispy pork loin chops were excellent.
Whilst they have a good wine list we elected for the most part to enjoy our BYO wines and pay the $20 per bottle corkage.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Concubine also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Concubine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing