We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner, fantastic service...”

The Playford Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 1,891 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The award-winning Playford Restaurant offers innovative world-class cuisine. Open for breakfast and for dinner, through professional yet unobtrusive service our aim is to deliver a highly personalised guest experience in keeping with the hotel's philosophy of a home away from home. Here we believe that fine food should be good for you and therefore uses organic, bio-dynamic and free range produce wherever possible, with no genetically modified foods. The buffet breakfast showcases an extensive array of local and exotic fruits, breads and traditional hot breakfast accompaniments and dinner incorporates the best of high quality South Australian ingredients teamed with a boutique wine list. Recent accolades include "Best Restaurant - Accommodation Division" at the Australian Hotel's Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame, "Best Restaurant in a Hotel" at the South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 and "Two Glass Winner" Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015.
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

If you’re in the market for a highbrow dinner, than this restaurant certainly delivers! We went with another couple and the food was tasty, wine even more so... expect to pay top dollar though, after all, you are receiving top service.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Chelsea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

We were staying at a different hotel but could not resist the breakfast here, in fact we ate there three times. The food is exceptional and fresh , locally sourced. Interestingly there is a herb garden on the rooftop of The Playford . We were well looked after by the professional staff particularly Capri. Without any doubt she offered true hospitality. She is an absolute asset , seamlessly doing her job and making each guest feel important.
Our breakfast consisted of fresh fruits , yoghurts, Bircher meusli and pastries , various hot food and of course barista coffee ( which was a little extra).
Definitely we will be returning to this hotel which has incredible European designed decor . You can imagine you are in Parisian city or similar.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

Wonderful food, ambiance and service. Great variety of dishes with a vegetarian menu as well which was great. Wine list was ok. Overall we loved this place.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 May 2019

We were staying at the Playford and decided to eat here on our last night.
Our food experiences in Adelaide had been fantastic up to know, so we were wondering when we were going to be disappointed. this is not about having bad expectations, but just the odds of eating out often..
Wow!! The food and service was great!!Charlotte gave me the table I had requested earlier in the day so we were away and racing.
If you go to this restaurant and don't have the Gnocchi , you have wasted an awesome opportunity. Too often Gnocchi is the a flour ball.( In fact on our return to Auckland flying Business class the meal ahd Gnocchi<FLOUR BALLS!!!)
The Playford Gnocchi just melted in your mouth. The Gorgonzola sauce was subtle as.
Absolutely to die for.
The Wife had the salmon as a main, and she said it was fantastic.
We then had Afogatos at the bar adjacent to the restaurant, and once again,yummy.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Food
3  Thank boknaai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 May 2019

I arrived at this restaurant with high expectations. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. The menu was similar to that of a local pub and the food served was also of that standard I am at a loss to understand how some of your contributors could award five stars.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kp0vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Playford Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Playford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.