We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robert K is correct.”

The Playford Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 1,891 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The award-winning Playford Restaurant offers innovative world-class cuisine. Open for breakfast and for dinner, through professional yet unobtrusive service our aim is to deliver a highly personalised guest experience in keeping with the hotel's philosophy of a home away from home. Here we believe that fine food should be good for you and therefore uses organic, bio-dynamic and free range produce wherever possible, with no genetically modified foods. The buffet breakfast showcases an extensive array of local and exotic fruits, breads and traditional hot breakfast accompaniments and dinner incorporates the best of high quality South Australian ingredients teamed with a boutique wine list. Recent accolades include "Best Restaurant - Accommodation Division" at the Australian Hotel's Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame, "Best Restaurant in a Hotel" at the South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 and "Two Glass Winner" Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015.
Reviewed 23 May 2019

I arrived at this restaurant with high expectations. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. The menu was similar to that of a local pub and the food served was also of that standard I am at a loss to understand how some of your contributors could award five stars.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kp0vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2019 via mobile

It’s a must for fine dining. I note that Robert K was very unflattering in his comments, but he didn’t express why he was so negative.

We are regulars and have never had a bad meal or bad service. The menu is changes quite often, and we are yet to see the same menu twice. It has a very French influence and they are very innovative with their menu choices.

We love it, and can not understand the few negative comments. Maybe their very hard to please.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank 577donc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 May 2019 via mobile

Am totally shocked of the positive reviews.. the food is well below average and left nearly all my food , I suppose people really have no idea what good food is

Date of visit: May 2019
4  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

Attending a conference and arrived late afternoon. We were staying at the Mercure and saw the Playford next door.

Trip advisor comments were good

Likes
- food was delicious
- wonderful flavour combinations, we tried scallops and pork belly for an entree both were very good. Mains were lamb and wagyu. Steamed veges nice. Both excellent.
-relatively generous servings and main only would have been enough
- professional wait staff
-you should book, we got a table but was at 8pm
-accept Accor card

It was busy so service was a little slow but acceptable
Decor was old school over the top but lovely

Very enjoyable will return

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 May 2019

A very professional waiting staff, great food an ambiance A relaxing place to dine and share time with your wife or to do business entertaining.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Playford Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Playford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.