We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dinner”

The Playford Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 1,891 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The award-winning Playford Restaurant offers innovative world-class cuisine. Open for breakfast and for dinner, through professional yet unobtrusive service our aim is to deliver a highly personalised guest experience in keeping with the hotel's philosophy of a home away from home. Here we believe that fine food should be good for you and therefore uses organic, bio-dynamic and free range produce wherever possible, with no genetically modified foods. The buffet breakfast showcases an extensive array of local and exotic fruits, breads and traditional hot breakfast accompaniments and dinner incorporates the best of high quality South Australian ingredients teamed with a boutique wine list. Recent accolades include "Best Restaurant - Accommodation Division" at the Australian Hotel's Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame, "Best Restaurant in a Hotel" at the South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 and "Two Glass Winner" Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015.
Reviewed 13 April 2019

We were staying at the Playford and waited till the last night to eat in the restaurant. My husband & I hadn’t booked but they fitted us in. The meal was one of the best I have ever eaten and quite affordable. The wait service was spot on, friendly and prompt.
I’ll be coming back next time we are in Adelaide.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2019

The food and service is good but not outstanding and it is expensive. The menu isn't large but caters for most dietary requirements

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 March 2019

What a lovely restaurant and atmosphere. We were next door at the Mercure and petty we did not know about this hotel before.
We booked a table to celebrate the birthday of our Grand daughter and we were given one right on the Avenue window. The set up was fine and some music was being played at the bar. The welcome was nice with huge smile but what mostly surprised us was the excellent creativity of the kitchen not only in presentation of the dishes but as well in the cooking perfection. Well done.
We had not ask anything but with the desserts we saw them arriving with a candle and she got a room singing core that was very nice with a final round of applause. Thank you for such a delightful evening for us visiting your country and coming from France and Switzerland. By the way charming ladies at service with a great smile and this is always highly welcome.
No doubt that we will not be back to soon but maybe she will one day but in the mean time a great place to be recommended for the decoration of the bar and restaurant and mainly the kitchen creativity and very friendly service with style. Bravo and thank you Australia.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank jchevasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

Always lovely food and well presented. A romantic feel with hubby. He has always surprised me from the beginning! Lovely place to be surprised. The rooms are wonderful also. The studio suite is fun as the spa is downstairs and bed upstairs.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank MichaelAndRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 March 2019

It is often how an operator responds to a problem that highlights the quality of their service.

After initially discovering that my main was not suitable the wait team swung in to action and organised an alternative main for me – great response and the alternative provided was excellent. We enjoyed it so much we decided to return for a second night.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Playford Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Playford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.