We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and ambience”

The Playford Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 1,891 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The award-winning Playford Restaurant offers innovative world-class cuisine. Open for breakfast and for dinner, through professional yet unobtrusive service our aim is to deliver a highly personalised guest experience in keeping with the hotel's philosophy of a home away from home. Here we believe that fine food should be good for you and therefore uses organic, bio-dynamic and free range produce wherever possible, with no genetically modified foods. The buffet breakfast showcases an extensive array of local and exotic fruits, breads and traditional hot breakfast accompaniments and dinner incorporates the best of high quality South Australian ingredients teamed with a boutique wine list. Recent accolades include "Best Restaurant - Accommodation Division" at the Australian Hotel's Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame, "Best Restaurant in a Hotel" at the South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 and "Two Glass Winner" Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015.
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

Always lovely food and well presented. A romantic feel with hubby. He has always surprised me from the beginning! Lovely place to be surprised. The rooms are wonderful also. The studio suite is fun as the spa is downstairs and bed upstairs.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank MichaelAndRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2019

It is often how an operator responds to a problem that highlights the quality of their service.

After initially discovering that my main was not suitable the wait team swung in to action and organised an alternative main for me – great response and the alternative provided was excellent. We enjoyed it so much we decided to return for a second night.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 March 2019

The food and service was very good and the atmosphere pleasant for a hotel restaurant. We had three courses and enjoyed all of it.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank alantoohey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 January 2019 via mobile

after an tasty entree We had the prawn linguini, a chefs special for main and it was delicious . We had the wine match and these complimented each other perfectly

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 106minniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

My daughter booked the five of us, four adults and a nine-year-old, in for the buffet breakfast on Christmas Eve. We thought that the decor and general feel of the restaurant area was just the right mix of the grand and the informal. The food itself was excellent, freshly cooked, regularly replenished, and the choice was comprehensive. Special mention too for the egg cooking service, where your choice is brought to the table, and the parfait special to end the meal. We enjoyed all this so much that we booked a repeat before leaving Adelaide five days later.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Playford Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Playford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.