We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful interior”

The Playford Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 1,891 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The award-winning Playford Restaurant offers innovative world-class cuisine. Open for breakfast and for dinner, through professional yet unobtrusive service our aim is to deliver a highly personalised guest experience in keeping with the hotel's philosophy of a home away from home. Here we believe that fine food should be good for you and therefore uses organic, bio-dynamic and free range produce wherever possible, with no genetically modified foods. The buffet breakfast showcases an extensive array of local and exotic fruits, breads and traditional hot breakfast accompaniments and dinner incorporates the best of high quality South Australian ingredients teamed with a boutique wine list. Recent accolades include "Best Restaurant - Accommodation Division" at the Australian Hotel's Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame, "Best Restaurant in a Hotel" at the South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 and "Two Glass Winner" Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015.
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

At a conference for the day and staying at a hotel up the road but was tempted to pop in for a drink. Glad I did. Lovely place, great staff. Went back their the next night with colleagues.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank annmarieo109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018

I do expect a hotel of this standing to have an excellent breakfast and The Playford certainly delivers on this score. I don't usually expect a hotel to have such a good restaurant for dinner.

Coming from Melbourne I was trying to think of a single Melbourne Hotel where you would seek out the restaurant at dinner time. (except for the Crown Complex) I came up empty.

Here at the Playford though the restaurant is justifiably rated as one of the best in Adelaide city. Not bad going in a city as 'foodie' as this one.

We enjoyed the festival of food menu here and were glad that we did. The weather in Adelaide was freezing when we were there so it is certainly nice to be able to enjoy that standard of food before hopping in the lift back to your warm room.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mcguigs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 August 2018

A group of us were staying nearby but decided to meet each morning for breakfast at the Playford. Best decision we ever made.
The Breakfast buffet was extensive, the food fresh and regularly resupplied.
Specialities such as Eggs Benedict omelettes were available on order and served at the table.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Accor plus accepted. We were a party of 4. I especially enjoyed the Kangaroo. We all ate different meals - starter - main and desert. Everyone said how delicious it was. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Delicious, fresh and a great selection from the buffet and eggs can be cooked to order, omelettes to order etc.... Nothing is too much trouble.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Murlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Playford Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Playford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.