We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful end of the evening”
Review of Georges

Georges
Ranked #6 of 1,891 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: USD 10 - USD 26
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Georges on Waymouth was established by George & Voula Kasimatis in November 2002, with the aim of serving fresh seasonal produce with impeccable service in a classic European setting. In the heart of Adelaide's CBD, Georges on Waymouth is an undeniable crowd pleaser, continually striving for excellence amongst locals and interstate guests. The dining room is stylish and minimalist with crisp linen tablecloths, high ceilings and wooden floorboards. A distinctly Mediterranean menu takes advantage of seasonal produce supporting local farmers & business. Open Tuesday-Friday for lunch and Tuesday-Saturday for dinner. Private room available for corporate or social events. Crowned a Delicious 100 restaurant in 2019. Walk-Ins are welcome.
Reviewed 15 July 2019

It was cold outside, we had just heard an amazing concert and then we walked into George's. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, service was immaculate and timely. Each course came out to perfection. In particular my choice of spinach linguine with prawns, chorizo and leek with just a touch of chili was divine. At the end we had a complimentary glass of a fantastic sherry. It was a beautiful evening (as always).

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank margareta701
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2019

George's is a staple when we want to treat ourselves. The staff are always polite and professional, and the food is consistently excellent. George, the lovely owner, is usually on hand to say hello (the man never sleeps!), and is always a passionate and sincere host. (If you need some guidance on Greek wine, he is the gentleman to talk to!)

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 July 2019

We arrived nearly 10 minutes early & were welcomed by a very friendly waiter, who checked our reservation & then led us to our table for two.
It was our first time at this restaurant that was recommended to us by our eldest son.
We ordered some sparkling water whilst browsing the comprehensive wine list. I found a nice red wine from the Hahndorf area. Then we ordered our first course - my wife had linguini pasta with a nice sized prawn on top & I had Spaetzle pasta with mushrooms etc and truffe shaved over the top. Both dishes were top notch :-)
Mains we both had the Black Angus beef - medium cooked - and it was delicious and cooked perfectly.
As sides we had very tasty vegetables & also crisp roasted potatoes that were absolutely delicious.
Our deserts were also excellent. I had a home made ice cream etc with a coffee to pour over it and a special biscuit. Then we had a quality skinny cappuccino to finish off a good nights dining experience.
The waiting staff were very frindly and helpful and they made us feel very welcome. The kitchen is obviously run very well and the food they produce is top notch and very tasty.
As we were getting ready to leave, the waitress asked if we need a Taxi. I said yes please and she had one waiting shortly after and the owner/manager - George opened the taxi door for us after enquiring how we enjoyed the food and night out at his restaurant. We said we loved it and will come back again. :-)
Wolf. Horn

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

Perfect location for a business lunch, the food is excellent and the services is a step above which is really why we all keep coming back! Great atmosphere and constantly changing specials which makes it fun!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ChristopherOverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

Ok, this place, wow, 5 star in dining, the food is just unbelievable, great service, they know there food, and wines, and again, the owner has done a great job, keeping this place as no1 for 5 star dining, and is very good for a romantic dinner

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Ange1111972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Georges also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.