We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Disappointed. Starting out noticed no shower curtain or door, we were told still remodeling some rooms and doors yet to be installed. Telephone did not work, due to remodel. Toilet continued to run when flushed. Carpet had paint all over, from remodel. Positives-great location, nice breakfast. Ok hotel if looking for low end.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianeandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Dianeandjack

Thankyou for writing a review on your recent stay at Grand Chifley Adelaide.

I apologise that your room was not as expected and have directed that rooms should not be made available unless all facilities and amenities are in good order and working. The toilet issue has been raised with our maintenance department for their immediate attention.

All roms on floors 1-3 are still awaiting installation of new carpet which was delayed due to manufacturing. We have discovered a couple of rooms with paint stained carpet and these are to be treated by professional cleaners to remove the paint in the meantime.

Once the carpet install is completed, the refurbishment of levels 1-5 (Standard Rooms) will further complement the $10 million hotel refurbishment completed in 2008 and ensure that room types are comparable throughout the hotel.

Thankyou again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back should you stay again.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    415
    216
    60
    41
See reviews for
163
343
80
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Generally, very moderate. Nothing very Grand about it at all. Reception staff were rude and unhelpful and especially ignorant.

Cleanliness and location on South Terrace were the two plus-points.

Absolutely positive that Adelaide has far better to offer than this.

Wireless internet was offered at $30 for two-days through an external operator.

My company held a conference at this hotel that was held from Friday to Sunday. Visitors arrived from as far a field as the Phillipines and America. Considering the obvious cost of such an event, we were amazed that we weren't even offered the use of the shuttle bus to take people back to the airport? (whilst it stood outside, clean and dormant)

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaf_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Amir Shafie

Thankyou for writing a review on your recent stay at Grand Chifley Adelaide.

Unfortunately, due to laws governing passenger transport in South Australia we are currently unable to offer a shuttle service to guests.

Your comments regarding our staff have been passed on to the Front Office Manager for his immediate attention.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to further discuss your stay.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My elderly parents & other family members/friends were staying at the Grand Chifley for my daughters wedding at the Veale Gardens.My parents don't have a credit card, were told they couldn't pay cash without a bond?? We left,no "Welcome" book to advise of attractions & hotel facilities. We asked to have our rooms cleaned by puting out signs provided, the beds were made & towels changed, the toilets weren't cleaned the 5 days we were there. Sometimes the cups were replaced,not everyday as I would expect, dirty cups were just left there.Our rooms were't attended to until at least 4pm. There was confetti on the floor from saturday till monday when we checked.Our friends & family were spread from floors 2-6,we had booked the rooms as a family wedding,

Room Tip: Check that they lock connecting rooms if you stay longer that family members next door...VERY embara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Judy C

Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Chifley Adelaide and providing a review on your recent stay.

We are sorry and apologise for the Housekeeping and other issues you experienced during your visit.

Housekeeping issues I have specifically addressed with Supervisors and Staff to ensure standards and cleanliness are maintained.

We are sorry that the request for rooms on the same floor / near each other for your party do not appear to have been made known to us during either the initial enquiry or subsequent bookings. I apologise that we were unable to facilitate the request on this occassion. Where possible and upon request prior to arrival, we do attempt to locate guests near/next to one another. When requests are made on or after arrival and during times when the hotel is heavily booked, our ability to do so is lessened further as rooms may already be occupied, maintenance and other issues.

Cash paying guests are required to pay a refundable bond in addition to the total accommodation charges at check-in to cover incidentals such as mini bar and telephone calls. Alternatively, guests are able to pay by a combination of cash/EFTPOS or credit card for the accommodation and bond. If requested or advised, we are also able to guarantee incidentals/payments to another person/rooms account with that persons permission. I have reminded Staff to ensure that these options are clearly and politely explained when bookings are made and upon arrival. We regret any inconvenience or embarrassment to your parents.

Your comments have been most constructive and I thank you for bringing these to our attention. I hope also that your daughter and son-in-law's wedding was a joyful day and wish them a long and happy marriage.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to further discuss your stay.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

due to flight cancellation, virgin put me up at this place, free accom, free taxi voucher and was meant to have a meal voucher. (due to it not being there on arrival,was told rudely "its not here, so you pay for meal") no," i will look into it for you,". well the meal turned out to be the best thing of the night, staff very rude the entire time, i asked for early wake up call and taxi booking, must have had an inkling as set my alarm. you guessed it, no wake up call. when i went to desk the rude man said no requests for either wake up call or taxi, "if you made request, i would have done it." Then he proceded to ask for payment for room and meal. ( which i paid cash at restaurant ) I explained again as i did previous night about virgin sending me , due to cancellation and footing the bill (believe me, i would never have stayed i had to pay, and intend to let others know not to stay, who fly weekly to adelaide as i do) shocking service!!!!!!!!!!!!! advice to management , have staff undertake mandatory public relation courses and look up the terms of customer service, i am sure they may learn something ,as both checking in and checking out staff were dismal excuses.
doubt you will bother to respond, however virgin airlines has been notified also. I stayed 9/02/12 overnight.

Room Tip: dont bother, stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear denice a

Thank you for providing valued feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologise that your experience was not favourable and will certainly be looking into the behaviours and actions of our staff as you have described.

We consider all feedback is important and it is concerning that our service, an area of vital importance and one in which we consistently receive high scores through our guest surveys, has not been as either you or we desire.

I invite you to call me personally at the hotel between 7.30 am and 4.00 pm Monday - Friday to further discuss your feedback.

Kind Regards


Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Had booked in at Adelaide Country Comfort which we've stayed in numerous times before. Upon arriving at reception told we'd be upgraded to the Grand Chifley. Room had two double beds, very clean but felt very 'closed in' mainly due to huge wall outside window, so would have preferred unit style room we had originally booked. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient. Would not choose to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbjt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Barbjt59

Thankyou for choosing to stay with us and providing a review.

Generally we offer upgrades when a particular room has been placed Out Of Order due to a problem in the room which cannot be readily fixed and have no other rooms of that standard or within the complex available at the time of check-in. Upgrades are done to at least a room type above that which was originally booked and in this instance was also a property upgrade from a 3.5* property to a 4.5* property (as independantly rated by AAA Tourism).

We apologise that you were unsatisfied with the room on this occassion. I would be delighted to personally assist in ensuring your next booking is as requested should you wish to stay at Country Comfort on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 km away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#38 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.9 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
3.3 km away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
2.4 km away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.4 km away
Rydges South Park Adelaide
Rydges South Park Adelaide
#28 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Adelaide

Property: Sage Hotel Adelaide
Address: 208 South Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Grand Chifley Adelaide)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $97 - $175
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sage Hotel Adelaide is conveniently located on the Southern Fringe of Adelaide CBD, overlooking the picturesque and tranquil South Parklands.Zouk Restaurant is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week and offers modern australian cuisine in a contemporary setting. Room Service is available 24 hrs.Friendly Staff, clean, modern rooms and FREE Parking, all within a 20 minute walk to the city centre make Sage Hotel Adelaide the perfect base for your stay in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sage Hotel Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide
Sage Hotel Adelaide South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing