We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“service at desk, rude and unhelpful at check in ,check out” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sage Hotel Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“service at desk, rude and unhelpful at check in ,check out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

due to flight cancellation, virgin put me up at this place, free accom, free taxi voucher and was meant to have a meal voucher. (due to it not being there on arrival,was told rudely "its not here, so you pay for meal") no," i will look into it for you,". well the meal turned out to be the best thing of the night, staff very rude the entire time, i asked for early wake up call and taxi booking, must have had an inkling as set my alarm. you guessed it, no wake up call. when i went to desk the rude man said no requests for either wake up call or taxi, "if you made request, i would have done it." Then he proceded to ask for payment for room and meal. ( which i paid cash at restaurant ) I explained again as i did previous night about virgin sending me , due to cancellation and footing the bill (believe me, i would never have stayed i had to pay, and intend to let others know not to stay, who fly weekly to adelaide as i do) shocking service!!!!!!!!!!!!! advice to management , have staff undertake mandatory public relation courses and look up the terms of customer service, i am sure they may learn something ,as both checking in and checking out staff were dismal excuses.
doubt you will bother to respond, however virgin airlines has been notified also. I stayed 9/02/12 overnight.

Room Tip: dont bother, stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear denice a

Thank you for providing valued feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologise that your experience was not favourable and will certainly be looking into the behaviours and actions of our staff as you have described.

We consider all feedback is important and it is concerning that our service, an area of vital importance and one in which we consistently receive high scores through our guest surveys, has not been as either you or we desire.

I invite you to call me personally at the hotel between 7.30 am and 4.00 pm Monday - Friday to further discuss your feedback.

Kind Regards


Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    407
    206
    55
    41
See reviews for
157
329
79
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Had booked in at Adelaide Country Comfort which we've stayed in numerous times before. Upon arriving at reception told we'd be upgraded to the Grand Chifley. Room had two double beds, very clean but felt very 'closed in' mainly due to huge wall outside window, so would have preferred unit style room we had originally booked. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient. Would not choose to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbjt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Barbjt59

Thankyou for choosing to stay with us and providing a review.

Generally we offer upgrades when a particular room has been placed Out Of Order due to a problem in the room which cannot be readily fixed and have no other rooms of that standard or within the complex available at the time of check-in. Upgrades are done to at least a room type above that which was originally booked and in this instance was also a property upgrade from a 3.5* property to a 4.5* property (as independantly rated by AAA Tourism).

We apologise that you were unsatisfied with the room on this occassion. I would be delighted to personally assist in ensuring your next booking is as requested should you wish to stay at Country Comfort on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

After a day out in the intense summer sun it was so nice to walk into the cool foyer with crisp and attentive service....they even ask you if there is anything more you would like to know about the hotel and surrounds (after they have given you a quick overview). and crisp foyer of this hotel.

This remains an old hotel but a lot of effort has gone into rennovating it and trying to make it as pleasant as possible for guests. Its not really that convienient to the popular restaurant area BUT this hotel has a nice restaurant of its own. The other thing that I thought was different and could be of benefit to some is the ability to buy essentials and snacks from reception. In your room you will find a brochure that tells you that they sell anything from cheese and crackers, noodles, deodorant and condoms.... to name a few things. So the moral of this hotel is that they try to do their best and try to offer a great service!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Jmkel

Thankyou for providing a review of your recent stay and I am pleased it was enoyable.

Your comments are most appreciated and have been shared with our valued team along with a general "well done" to all.

I am also pleased to report that a further upgrade of the premises is currently underway and encompasses all standard rooms on floors 1 to 5. This is due for completion early February 2012.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

dues to flight issues we were fortunate to be put up courtesy of the airline in the grand chifley, the foyer is large and spacious, the checkin process was very simple, they serve meals in your room or at their restaurant, and can store your luggage for you. very friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear KayKev08

Thankyou for providing a review of your recent stay which I am pleased you enjoyed.

Guest reviews are important to us and future guests and are regularly reviewed as we seek to continuously improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here 3 nights. The room had recently been refurbished and it showed. It was extremely comfortable with an efficient air conditioner, essential in the heat wave in Jan 2012 - up to 42C on some days! The housekeeping was faultless, the rooms cleaned beautifully every morning. It was just South of city centre but a few minutes walk to the tram stop, walking distance to good bars and restaurants. Found the reception staff efficient and helpful, especially ehen the air conditioner stopped working on hot evening. The receptionist herself came up to check and managed to repair it by changing the batteries on the remote. Thats great service! Did not get a chance to eat in so can't rate the food.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear AB095

Thankyou for choosing to stay at Grand Chifley Adelaide and writing a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Your comments have been shared with our staff and they have also been commended for their assistance in regard to the airconditioning remote battery issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 km away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#36 of 58 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.9 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.3 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1.4 km away
Rydges South Park Adelaide
Rydges South Park Adelaide
#26 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.4 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Adelaide

Property: Sage Hotel Adelaide
Address: 208 South Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Grand Chifley Adelaide)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $113 - $357
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sage Hotel Adelaide is conveniently located on the Southern Fringe of Adelaide CBD, overlooking the picturesque and tranquil South Parklands.Zouk Restaurant is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week and offers modern australian cuisine in a contemporary setting. Room Service is available 24 hrs.Friendly Staff, clean, modern rooms and FREE Parking, all within a 20 minute walk to the city centre make Sage Hotel Adelaide the perfect base for your stay in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sage Hotel Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide
Sage Hotel Adelaide South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing