We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cafe in North Adelaide by far!”
Review of E for Ethel

E for Ethel
Ranked #5 of 133 Coffee & Tea in Adelaide
Price range: USD 5 - USD 21
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 August 2015

E for Ethel is the most delightful cafe in North Adelaide (or anywhere for that matter!)
Amanda is so lovely and makes you feel welcome and attended to even if they're really busy. Even at their peak times there's always somewhere to sit and enjoy.

The breakfast menu is sensational and the coffee is always on point.

The local crafts that are available for purchase will have you browsing for ages.

There are other cafes on Melbourne Street but none are as consistently good as Ethel and you have to chance your luck getting a table. Skip the hassle and go straight to Ethel's :D

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at E for Ethel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2019

Woohoo, what a lovely review! Thanks so much, we try to look after every guest as if they're in our own home, and we're glad you enjoyed your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Lovely little spot with a relaxed vibe, really friendly staff, great food in generous serves and I'm told fabulous coffee (I'm a tea drinker myself!). Little touches like a chocolate freckle on my teaspoon really win me over! Great range of local craft/gift items too.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Upgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at E for Ethel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2019

Thanks so much! Come again soon :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Amanda and Dan has given us a wonderful place to drop in, have coffee and cake or a meal or smoothie or juice and just chill. It's a not so hidden treasure!

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank dumbquestion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at E for Ethel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2019

Woohoo! Thanks ya'll, we look forward to looking after you both again soon! Travel safe! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

Hidden away at the back of a group of shops on Melbourne Street, I never knew this place existed until going for a friends birthday. Really yummy food & good coffee.

Thank AandMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at E for Ethel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2019

Yay! We like to say we're Adelaide's worst kept secret...! Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Saw a round of comedians there, during the Fringe. Very funny, very cute cafe too.. Very artsy and many hand crafted items for sale.

Date of visit: March 2015
Thank 599mandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at E for Ethel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2019

We're so glad you had a great time at one of our fringe events! Thanks for your visit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed E for Ethel also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to E for Ethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.