We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A good hotel but not if you want a view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good hotel but not if you want a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights, the room was well furnished and a decent size but the view was of the multi-story car park. Having seen other reviews on here, I suspect that this might be the case with all the rooms.
Check-in wasn't great because they don't seem to have any porters - we arrived with four large suitcases (and hand luggage) and when our taxi pulled up outside I nipped in to ask for some help, only to be told that they don't have anyone, so I had to keep running from the pavement to the reception desk with everything. The same for when we checked out - which was a bit disappointing.
The location is good and perfect for walking straight into the city centre, there are also plenty of places to eat and drink within a minute or two.
The hotel offers free wi-fi (which is a rarity in Australia it seems) and you can also access it using the broadband cable if you have a laptop.
The only real disappointment was the roof garden - it's a small area that has a few potted plants. And the gym wasn't exactly state-of-the-art either. But Adelaide is such a lovely city and you probably wouldn't be spending that much time in the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremys30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear jeremys30,

Firstly, please accept our apologies for the below standard service you received from our Front Office Team during your stay. It is certainly below my expectations and has been addressed with the team through the introduction of an additional customer service training programme - so that we can improve this aspect of our service.

Our location is a positive for our customers due to our close proximity to Adelaide’s East End, however as we are a city location we do have limited views from some of our guest rooms. If you decide to stay again, we would be more than happy to accept a request for a room with a preferred view.

I am happy to read that you were able to make use of our complimentary wi-fi as we have recently installed this and it has been well received by our customers.

Thank you again for your comments as I truly appreciate honest feedback to ensure we can continue to improve your experience.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    518
    88
    26
    9
See reviews for
95
752
94
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stay here for our recent anniversary. Overall the hotel is a fine place to stay, but we were particularly disappointed in the roof garden. The website leads you to believe that there is a lush garden with comfy chairs to sit above the city. It was more like a corridor around the conference rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms facing west have tiny windows so if you want lots of light ask for the front of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Designsusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear designsusi,

Thank you for your review and allow us to wish you a happy anniversary for February. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall positive experience at our Hotel however I do note your comments regarding our Roof Garden area and apologise if you were led to believe it was other than portrayed on the website.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
473 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had a nice stay at the Majestic. The room was very nice. The rooms have a feature that we had not seen before and that is a Japanese sliding window between the bathroom and bedroom area. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast area was nice and the food was good. The location is great for the Rundle Mall and for catching a tram to go to other places in the city. The only drawback we saw was that the laundry facility was not convenient to use. If we ever return to Adelaide, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear DJH2010,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Adelaide and for your comments about our Hotel.

For future reference regarding our laundry, we do have a convenient option where we can arrange for guests laundry to be sent off-site if that would be of any assistance.

We hope that you can return to stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Majestic is in the CBD and very close to the dining strip of Rundle Street. It was built in 2004 and still looks, fresh, stylish and modern today. We stayed in an Executive Room and were pleased with the spaciousness, the large bathroom and the great bath with sliding Japanese screen doors - perfect to have a luxurious soak with a glass of your favourite tipple from where you could also watch TV.

I am surprised about reviews claiming the hotel was untidy. We have been staying since 2006 and have always found it very clean and fresh. Nor is it noisy. We have stayed on the first floor and on the fifth floor, and on Saturday nights, and never had problems with noise despite the Austral pub being close by. I found it much noiser on the 11th floor of the Grand Chancellor on Hindley on a Saturday night just the week before - and this from people a block away on Currie Street.

Nor is it pricey. I can not believe people are paying over $300 a night for a room here. We paid $179 for an executive room and full breakfast - only $10 more than the price 6 years ago. I have to laugh at reviews from people in Sydney or the US complaining about the "expensive rooms". Try getting a similar deal in such a nice hotel in New York or Sydney! $300 for a basic room is the norm in the Sydney CBD.

I would recommend the Majestic as a spacious, clean and conveniently located hotel. The breakfast was excellent - fresh danishes, great sausages, bacon and hash browns. It was far superior to the breakfasts we have had just in the last few weeks at the Stamford Plaza (although they had a wider range) and the Grand Chancellor on Hindley.

One should not consider it a five star hotel, however. The views from the rooms are mainly onto neighbouring car parks, as is the view from Culshaws Restaurant, but you are here for the convenient location and should be going out to the cafes and pubs on Rundle Street. In all hotels you will find minor problems. The toilet in our room would continue to flush if you did not give the button another tap, the sliding door to the bathroom seemed to lock shut if you closed it tight upon leaving, and we had to use the doors over the bath to get back in! The TV has some Foxtel channels but not all free to air digital channels. The Guest comment card from previous guests from a week ago was still on the desk, I did note the cords of the electrical blanket were a little too prominent, etc. But these are minor quibbles one could experience at any hotel and they would not deter me from staying again or stop me recommending the hotel.

A periennal bug bear for many is that Australian hotels charge for internet. It is free in Europe but it is not a problem for us when we stay in Aussie hotels. We are staying to have a break not to surf the net or tweet to friends. It is a surprise that they charge for toothpaste, but again a minor quibble.

One thing that was unusual. The night we stayed (21 January 2012) the fire alarms went off after 1 AM in the morning. I have only experienced this one other time in a hotel and an announcement was made telling us the reason for the alarm. I was worried that we hesitated a bit too much before vacating our room expectiing that there might be an announcement. We evacuated to the street with the fire brigade in evidence, but thankfully it was a false alarm. We only knew this by overhearing a fireman saying this to other guests in passing. There appeared to be only two hotel staff on duty and no general announcement directing people to the assembly point, explaining what had happened, or confirming when we could return to our rooms. People realised they could return when they saw others going into the lifts with a fireman in full regalia. No PA announcement at any time, no note on the counter the next morning to explain what happened. No one mentioned it to us when we checked out- asking if we had had any problems etc (we did not mention it as it was no great problem, but it would be good service to check with people as they left to ensure they were not leaving grumpy). We actually quickly threw on some clothes and it was a warm summer night but there were a few men just in shorts or boxers, a few women in robes or pyjamas and a few older people outside in their PJs. If it was a real emergency there could have been a few real problems with older guests trying to evacuate, i saw one woman with a zimmer frame, and another woman was having to proceed very slowly down the fire stairs with a walking stick which might have caused anxiety for her worrying she was holding up other guests and not then knowing what the problem was. In the end it was no drama, a story to tell the kids (as I am sure the bridal parties staying there will do - a group of bridesmaids were having a great time getting photos with the firemen!), still it needed a more proactive Night Manager and better communication. The evacuation worked well, there was no panic and it again would not stop me returning to the hotel or recommending it to others

Room Tip: The Executive Rooms are very good on the fifth floor overlooking Bent Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Scott P,

Thank you for your recent and thorough review and the positive comments you have made about the Hotel. I am pleased to read that you have been staying with us since 2006 and that you would recommend our Hotel.

It is very unfortunate you experienced an evacuation at an inconvenient time during one of your stays. Fortunately, it was a false alarm and further to this, we have had the opportunity to review our procedures for evacuations in the future and to ensure they run as smoothly as possible, ensuring communication as you have noted.

Again, thank you for you review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooktown
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have stayed here on five occasions in the last two years. Staff are very helpful and humble. Culshaws restaurant is great but unfortunately due to the times we stay involves (Xmas and public holidays) it's closed and room service limited. Rooms are clean, modern and beds very comfy. The position is terrific as we are walking distance to an array of restaurants, pubs, bistro's and boutique shops, bottleshop and convenience stores as well as the Rundle mall. Carpark is directly behind for $18 per day. Next door is an Italian/pizzeria restaurant open 5pm-5am. Our favourite restaurants are- Al fresco for bfast $10-12 Eros (Greek) Lunch & Dinner and the Stagg Hotel (careful as meals are huge). The stagg has a great local wine list by the glass too.

Room Tip: executive rooms are larger. Ask for balcony on fromme st side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Nadine S,

First of all, thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stays in Adelaide – we certainly appreciate your loyalty and custom over the past two years. I am disappointed to read that you have not been able to experience Culshaw’s Restaurant due to our limited opening times over the Christmas and New Year break and hope you can enjoy the menu on your next visit.

On a further positive note, it is great to read that you have found our staff to be of assistance and our Hotel to be clean and modern on your regular visits and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.8 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.1 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#5 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.3 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#9 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.6 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#6 of 59 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $133 - $268
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel Adelaide, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing