We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel but very anti-social” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpack OZ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backpack OZ
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hostel but very anti-social”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Good location, clean and with friendly staff (even if the German girl on reception was incapable of understanding my name and always had something other to do than serve behind the bar) but free wi-fi should be banned in hostels! The other guests booted up their laptops in the morning and stayed in the same position until they went to bed. In 4 days I barely spoke to anyone - the communal area is small and it's a bit hard to strike up a conversation if people always have their heads buried in their laptops. Fine for a short stay if you have no interest in meeting other travellers. In addition, the free breakfast is good but there is no milk for the cereal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseEmma83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    55
    28
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
34
68
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

This is a great value for a backpackers. Clean, friendly, conveniently located, and reasonably priced. Free breakfast is basic cereal and toast, but nice to have. The free wifi is great. Take advantage of the free Adelaide city bikes that they offer here. They have free transfers to the train station of which I took advantage. I stayed twice, each time in a single room with a bunk with a full bed on the bottom, twin on top. There's an in-room sink, some shelving, ceiling fan, clothes rack, and that's all. Not a lot of charm, very basic, but clean and cheap, just how I like it. Quiet too. The common showers and toilets were clean and even empty most of the time I was there. Wish all backpackers were this way!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsjcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

Backpack OZ is a nice place with friendly staff, free meal during a week day, but can be a little bit noisy because of the bar downstairs. The other guesthouse across the street is very nice and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurboN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2007

I loved it here, its just so friendly! theres a great atmosphere in the communal room, where theres a bar, internet, free pool table, and tv with free video rental, oh and a nice little beer garden!
the breakfast is free and you can eat as much as you want (toast, cereal, tea/coffee) and theres a free bbq every wednesday night, which was really yummy!!
everywheres really clean and tidy all the time, and theres good shower facilites and even a bath!!!
i cant recommend this hostel enough, im even going back to adelaide at the end of my travels especially to stay there again!! that says it all!!
have fun, and say hi to Henry if hes still there!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank itchybasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2003

Sam and all the lads there are brilliant, great place, always clean, not too big, not too small, friendly atmosphere and a nice little bar onsite too. Excellent.Cant say any more than that.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.6 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.6 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.8 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.4 km away
Adelaide Backpackers Inn
Adelaide Backpackers Inn
#17 of 55 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpack OZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpack OZ

Property: Backpack OZ
Address: 144 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $25 - $81
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backpack OZ 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart and don't just got for a hostel with the lowest rate - you get what you pay for! Are you looking for a hostel where you feel welcome to relax and just hang out if you want a break? Where there are activities so you can meet people and make new friends? Where you don't feel as though you are putting your hand in your pocket every 5 minutes? Where the staff are happy to give you free advice about what to do in Adelaide (not just sell you an expensive tour)? Backpack Oz is a family owned and operated business that enjoys a great reputation - and not just because of the free Tuesday night BBQ dinner and daily Happy Hour ($3.50 beers)! All rooms and common areas have A/C, and kitchens and bathrooms are cleaned daily (and we mean really clean - check the ratings)! We have a fantastic city location - walk to cafe/pub districts, Central Market and CBD! Our free WiFi is super fast and we have a light & bright dining & common room with big screen TV. Free pick ups and drop offs to bus and train stations are available (not airport and conditions apply). Our staff are super well trained and really want you to enjoy your stay and make the most of Adelaide! We hope you choose to stay with us and leave with fond memories of both Adelaide and Backpack Oz. Cheers! Sam, Penny & Tom Twelftree *Reception is open from 6.00am till 10.00pm. You must check in prior to 10.00pm or we can not accept your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Backpack OZ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpack OZ Adelaide, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing