We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome adelaide YHA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelaide Central YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“awesome adelaide YHA”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Best suprise in Adelaide! The YHA is ideal for budget conscious travellers who want a clean, welcoming, safe and prime location. Staff are fantastic, the shared washrooms are spotless and the space is perfect for relaxing and meeting new people. The YHA changed my mind about hostels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomesN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    150
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
23
48
130
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Even if Adelaide is pretty.. calm.. the YHA is a perfect place to stay if you intend to visit the city.

Not to far from the center and the shopping street, the YHA is big and very well taking care of.
The bathroom are clean, the bed are ok, the lockers worked very well, and the room are not too noisy (even if they could insonorise it better).

The staff is amazing, everybody was really nice and helpful for all of my questions and managed to book the bottom bed for me when i asked.

The kichen is also big enough to make it convenient, as the dining room, which is also a "living room" where you can seat on the coach and read/use global gossip/speak with others travellers.

On top of that, there is some free activities as a tour of the city and free pancakes in the morning (a little bit too early for the party animals but you can't ask for everything ^^)

Best Hostel I've been in Australia so far

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ville-Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I just love staying here, great location, great staff, so clean, big common areas, 2 tv roooms, bathrooms ans showers are cleaned daily and there's plenty of both. The location is great, nice quiet street with a parc in front of the hostel, perfect place in my book!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

this is one of the best hostels during our 2-weeks trip in Australia. Adelaide was our first stop in Australia. I have to say Adelaid Central YHA is the best one we have stayed. Clean kitchen, well-managed recycling, helpful staffs, FREE ping-pong table, FREE guided city tour. And the tour guide was knowledgeable and passionate. We were so lucky to join the half-day tour since we only had one full day to visit Adelaide. Don't miss it If you love to know better about Adelaide.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snowli2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This was my 2nd stop there as a single & found the double room, clean,spacious & it had plenty of space. The shared facilities are hygenic & user friendly with plenty of basins & mirrors. I had my handbag stolen while getting from the airport on public transport , mainly due to inattention on my part & was treated with such consideration by the staff that the trauma was much lessened. The public transport bus driver & passengers were very helpful & the police were so lovely when I made a report. I'm going back to Adelaide very soon & using further YHAs in SA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from bathrooms so you don't hear any thing from guests using shared faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydee086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.9 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,241 reviews
1.4 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,075 reviews
1.2 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,623 reviews
0.3 km away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Central YHA

Property: Adelaide Central YHA
Address: 135 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $32 - $107
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW FREE AT ADELAIDE'S FAVOURITE BACKPACKER HOSTEL • Wifi Hotspot - that's right, we've got free Wifi for all of our guests • Pancakes on Monday and Friday mornings • Cool activities - ping pong competitions, city walks, pub nights and more • Lovely white linen for you bed • Luggage storage Adelaide's coolest backpacker hostel is just a short walk to the city's favourite markets, hip bars, shopping areas with easy access to the nearby hills, beaches and wine districts. Save money and make new friends in a multishare room or relax in the privacy of your own (newly renovated) private twin, double or family room - all ensuite rooms now include TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Cook for yourself in the well set up kitchen or head out and see why Adelaide has an amazing reputation for food and wine. The huge, well designed lounge, dining and social area overlooks a beautiful park making it one of the best locations in the city. Adelaide Central YHA's friendly, helpful staff are very keen to help you have the best time possible in this city known as rAdelaide and can also assist you with your tour and travel bookings beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Central Yha Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Central YHA South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing