We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but the location is great...”
Review of Adelaide Paringa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Paringa
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Adelaide Paringa is not The Ritz. The rooms are really showing their age and the blankets really need replacing. The corridors and lift are cramped and pokey. However the rooms are quite large and they were clean - if a bit Spartan. The location, though, is superb. The hotel is almost at the corner of Hindley and King William Streets in the city - very close to eateries, pubs, the casino and transport. There is some external noise and Hindley Street is haunted by some 'odd' people

I booked for one night (a Saturday) through Zuji for about ($94). Soon after arrival I discovered that I was a 'prisoner' of the Qantas grounding and ended up staying an additional two nights in an upgraded (top floor) room for only a few dollars more per night. The front desk staff were obliging allowing me to access the room early on the morning of arrival and understanding when I needed to extend my stay. Don't expect a five star establishment - but the Paringa is perfectly adequate for a few nights.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are definitely nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sprintlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for staying with us but also for taking the time to share your feedback. No we are indeed not the Ritz (!), but as you have have commented what we do offer is a good value and comfortable accommodation experience, with friendly and obliging staff that will go out of their way to assist.
Yes, being an historic building does mean that some areas are a bit cramped and tight, and being such a central location does mean that at times noise can be heard, however I am glad to say that we are currently in the process of soundproofing our rooms, with the first floor now complete.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Adelaide Paringa in the near future.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here on two non-consecutive nights before and after a trip to Kangaroo Island. Be aware if you stay here that the front desk closes at 9PM. We didn't arrive until 10:30PM and had to check in at the apartment building next door, which was fine, but not as convenient and you can't use the internet in the lobby after closing time.

We had the spa room the first night (make sure you read the instructions on the back of the door on how to use it AND make sure not to slip getting out). The room was very big but the place looks a little run down in general, especially the bathrooms. The spa is just a big bathtub with noisy jets, but it was still nice to have. The window did not latch all the way and we could hear noise from the busy street below. The location is pretty great, right by a bunch of shops and restaurants, but we didn't get to see any of Adelaide because of our KI trip.

Our second night there we had just a regular double room. It was big and cozy, and we slept very well.

Room Tip: We booked online and got a free spa upgrade. Rooms facing the main street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trysta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to write a review. I also hope you enjoyed your trip to Kangaroo Island!
Apologies for any inconvenience on your arrival, and I trust that our Miller Apartments staff made your check-in experience as smooth as possible. Regarding accessing the internet, we could have made available to you the internet in the business centre at Miller Apartments. Maybe next time!
Thanks for your comments on the spa being noisy and the latch on the window - I will look at these immediately.
And yes I agree our location is ideal for a true Adelaide experience and we do hope to see you back at Adelaide Paringa soon.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My girlfriends and I recently had a girls week end in Adelaide and stayed at Adelaide Paringa. We could not fault the staff, who went out of their way to get us extra pillows and attend any needs we had, including organising a taxi to the airport on leaving. We had a late check out but werent due to fly until later that night, however the staff allowed us to leave our luggage with them for the day until we were ready to head to the airport. One of my friends ended up not well on the last day and the staff went out of their way to set her up and make her feel comfortable in the sitting room sleeping while the rest of us went about our day. Thanks staff - you were all awesome and when back in Adelaide - will def stay with you again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an airconditioner and the blind goes all the way down....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmacca1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with your girfriends and thanks for your kind comments about our staff. Yes, we are very proud of our staff and they will be so pleased to hear and also read your feedback!
I can confirm that all our rooms are individually airconditioned and we have rectified the issue with your blind in your room - thanks for bringing this to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again!
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I had a couple of nights here in between arriving on the Indian Pacific from Perth and then leaving on The Ghan to Alice.

Nice central location except the airport bus will not drop you at the door and you have to walk through the back alleyway dragging a suitcase behind you......The entrance is in the side street off HIndley Street which is one of the main 'clubbing areas' of Adelaide, try and get a room overlooking the side street and high up as the bar across the side street stays open all night and it gets a bit noisy!

The blurb says that this is a converted office block and it shows, be wary when getting out of the lift as you walk straight into a pillar and if you have a big suitcase and someone is waiting outside for the lift you collide!

My 'room' was two rooms with an archway through to the bed area (comfortable bed BTW), one bit was a living area with rather quaintly old fashioned table and chairs and a 'universal' wardrobe which had the fridge and kettle in it as well, not the best carpet in the world either, a chair in the 'bedroom' would have been handy.

Huge shower cubicle so you don't keep banging you elbows against the glass sides and door and nice toiletries, I appreciated the notice explaining how best to get hot water but why not just get the system fixed (the plumbing is a bit noisy in the night too).??

As everyone says very central for everything and with two chocolate shops just a few steps away!

Very friendly helpful staff and as an added bonus their sister hotel across the street has a really good laundry!

What swimming pool?

Room Tip: Get a room high up as it can be noisy until the very early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitselakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you also for your kind comments regarding our staff, all of whom we are very proud.
Yes, being an historic building does provide character and warmth, however it also means that there are some "nooks and crannies" that can sometimes be a little tight! Our staff are always there to assist in these cases but apologies for any frustration and embarrassment you may have experienced. We wll also look into your comments about the noisy pipes at night, this is first time I have heard this but will certainly investigate.
Our central location does at times become a little noisy, however we have almost completed the soundproofing of our entire first floor, and we are commencing soundproofing works on the second floor in the coming weeks.
Thank you again for staying with us and providing feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Adelaide Paringa in the near future.
Regards,
John Ryan, Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and i and another couple stayed here in August 2010. The location was great last time we stayed on North Terrace. Everything was in walking distance, the markets, chinatown, etc we had 2 rooms on the side of the alley. Simon was fantastic at front desk and couldn't help us enough if we needed it. We are thinking of going back to Adelaide again in the near future and will definately stay here. The rooms are clean as were the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highflyerAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.9 km away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
576 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Central Apartments
0 km away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.2 km away
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
#41 of 56 in Adelaide
2,320 reviews
2.2 km away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Paringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Paringa

Address: 15 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $68 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Paringa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 star nationally accredited motel and are members of the Golden Chain Group of properties. All rooms offer en-suite bathroom, radio, phone, broadband internet access, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We are located in the heart of the city, central to the cities premier dining strips, shopping, pubs and entertainment venues. We also offer flexible check-in times and can store luggage for late departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Adelaide Paringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Paringa South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing