We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite Adelaide Hotel”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Our favourite Adelaide Hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I stay here regularly, and we just love it. It's a small hotel, and quite boutique. The staff are really helpful. The rates are excellent and the buffet breakfast the next day is divine. We love hanging out in the bar area, which is really designed for relaxation!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roopinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    99
    37
    19
    17
See reviews for
16
82
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The location on Rundle Mall will work for lots of people and the proximity of beautiful old shopping arcades reinforces the character of this old building, which has been modestly but nicely updated. The room and bathroom were very spacious, very clean and light-filled, although offering only roof and alleyway views. And quiet (provided you ask for one away from the mall end where the main hazard is - as a colleague discovered - the mall-cleaning equipment noisily going by in the wee hours). The breakfast was good in a large first floor space converted modishly but preserving nice old building features into a pleasant bar in the evenings and a great space for a good continental breakfast offering in the morning. Service was uniformly good. Recommended for a business trip and good value.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mall can be noisy during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed here for business overnight and it was very good. The room was a great size and had good facilities. Breakfast the next morning was okay too. Overall I was impressed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanders1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at the Richmond about 5 years ago and it was a cool boutique hotel then that we liked very much...so it was our first choice on returning to Adelaide last weekend. Sadly it was a shadow of it's former self and i doubt we would go back again. Rooms I seem to remember were always a bit minimalist, but now the furniture looks very tired and is in need of an overhaul. The fabulous bar/restaurant space on level one was buzzing last time we were there and brekkie was a full service affair. Now it is just buffet style continental with no hot breakfast options...we looked in for dinner in the evening, but it seemed to be dead with only loud music playing...shame as it was a very classy busy space before. Cost us $199 for the night too so not good value for money either...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel is tucked away in a shopping mall. It is very difficult to find if you are arriving by car - you have to navigate into a tiny lane at the back (no signs) and then wander through echoing, empty walkways until you find the place. Very odd. The rooms are large and decorated in a somewhat clunky style. They appeared to be clean, but one would not want to have to spend much time in them.The staff at reception were extremely helpful and pleasant: they deserve top marks for their effort and their general demeanour. They were cheerful, polite and obliging.
The breakfast, alas, was not all that impressive. A few skimpy items laid out on a table serves as the continental option, but one can order a cooked breakfast, which was fine. The overall impression in the dining area was one of parsimony, I'm sorry to have to say. The room in which breakfast is served is somewhat barn-like.
Really nice, helpful staff doing their best, and I would not wish to criticise them in the slightest. I think this would suit a person going on a shopping trip or somebody who just wants a clean place right in the centre of town. There will, undoubtedly, be many for whom it is therefore just right, and I think that the staff will certainly do their best to make such a stay comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Augustus509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,241 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,622 reviews
0.3 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.1 km away
Mansions on Pulteney
Mansions on Pulteney
#41 of 57 in Adelaide
156 reviews
0.3 km away
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 128 Rundle Mall, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#24 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#26 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $106 - $247
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the business and shopping district, Hotel Richmond is Adelaide's premier boutique hotel. The effortlessly chic 30 guestrooms and suites feature individual climate control, all about me amenities, en-suite bathrooms and flat-screen televisions. The glamorous restaurant and bar, "first", is a magnet for the cool party crowd. Spherical wire-ball chandeliers cast twinkling light over artwork by local and international artists. The contemporary Australian menu, offers modern dining in chic surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Adelaide
Hotel Richmond Adelaide, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing