We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in excellent location!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in a loft suite and the room was very nice, exept for a bad view. The staff at this hotel are great, especially the French concierge! They were all very helpful about ordering tours and were to find things in the city. The tram stops almost outside the hotel. Had dinner at the restaurant one night and the food was very good, so was the service. Will definetly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    626
    178
    43
    30
See reviews for
263
1,081
118
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We've stayed in a loft suite on two occasions. If you can, stay in one facing North Terrace, like we did the first time, they're bigger and very luxurious, but I think they're more expensive.
The buffet breakfast was one of the best we've had. I like how it's all local produce. Try the yoghurt from the fleurieu yoghurt company- it's delicious!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Groovygrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here during the cricket test between Australia and India and the hotel was completely full (and was hosting the Australian cricket team).

We were in the cheapest rooms and did not have great expectations and these were not changed once we saw our room – 1st floor, next to conference/ball rooms, view of car park, noisy and poor quality air-conditioning and room in need of fresh paint/carpet.

The bathroom had been more recently updated, however having a shower resulted in major flooding. The bathroom supplies – shampoo/shower gel, conditioner and moisturiser – had an awful smell, as if they were bad or had industrial cleaner mixed into them by accident. We asked for them to be replaced but the new ones smelt the same. Sebel should urgently consider replacing the supplier, these days we assume that the bathroom supplies will be OK and travel without them.

On the upside the staff were excellent, especially the concierge, reception and bar, and ensured we enjoyed our stay. We did not eat in the restaurant but did have an excellent (and good value) light breakfast in the bar area (with complementary coffee using vouchers provided by the reception).

The gym and indoor pool were fine (and under-utilised). The location, particularly for cricket, is excellent.

We would probably stay somewhere else in the future. We stayed at the Rendezvous the last time we were here for the cricket and had a much better stay

Room Tip: Not on the first floor - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Sebel Playford is my favourite hotel in Adelaide. I have stayed here 2 years in a row now for my birthday and wouldnt pick another hotel! Excellent customer service skills, Spa Suite was excellent and the balcony topped it off! Room was amazing! Definetly booking again soon!!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latinlatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just had 3 wonderful nights in the Sebel Playford in Adelaide.
Perfectly positioned to the CBD and Casino, the free tram around town makes it ideal.

Cant get over the pleasentnes of the staff- room was just so comfortable, but ours didnt have a view. We accepted this after inspection

Room Tip: Expect to pay a higher price for more luxuries Inspect the room offered to see if it meets your exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,034 reviews
1.1 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,648 reviews
0.4 km away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $157 - $270
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide
The Playford - MGallery By Sofitel Adelaide, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing