We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine lady in need of Botox” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fine lady in need of Botox”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Came to Adelaide for the caberet festival, so stayed two nights, i came here about 20 years ago when this hotel was a Hyatt, and sadly not a lot had changed , the ambient colours and marble of the 80's still; feature all over, and whilst the rooms have been redecorated they really show there age, which is ok, but they charging 2013 5 star prices for 1980;s glamour.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Ricardo A

Thank you very much for providing your feedback following your stay during the Cabaret season.

I would like to acknowledge your thoughts and thank you for choosing to visit us again after so many years.

I trust you enjoyed your Cabaret experience and time in Adelaide.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    610
    212
    56
    29
See reviews for
140
616
85
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a big Australia trip,
The plus side - the front of house staff were efficient, polite and extremely helpful. The hotel is near the museum and art gallery if you want to visit them.
The minus side - The public areas around the foyer are badly in need of an upgrade. Think late 70s brown without enough light. Also never a good sign when your first comment on seeing your room is "Never mind, it's only for two nights". We had a river view room which technically did just that but unfortunately also overlooked the building site for the new hospital and the upgrade to the Oval - and is on the flight path. So woken up on Saturday by cranes and planes. This is obviously out of the control of the hotel but be conscious that this work is going on at the moment.
The room itself was faded and in need of a refurb - scratched paint, aged carpet and a fridge that buzzed on and off all night. And for some reason, despite it being booked for two, there was only one robe. Presumably we were meant to share?
What was really shocking was the fact that water and wifi are chargeable. Come on InterContinental, join the 21st century - does anyone still do this? And they charged us $4 for settling the bill by credit card....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AsiaphileLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear AsiaphileLondon

Thank you for posting a TripAdvisor review after your recent stay.

I was delighted to learn that our team were efficient and helpful throughout your visit. We sincerely appreciate your kind review and strive to ensure all our guests have a great stay with us.

With regards to the construction works, this is actually an exciting redevelopment of the Riverbank Precinct - one of a host of major projects underway in and around Adelaide. I hope you have an opportunity to return to see its progress and final completion.

I appreciate all of your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when you're once again visiting South Australia.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Checking in was very smooth. The staff at the desk were so polite and extremely well spoken!
The rooms are nice but they could do with a revamp/ modernisation.
Room service was prompt and delicious.
I stay here for business as this hotel is very central.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Richolisa

Thank you for recently staying at InterContinental Adelaide and choosing us as your destination to stay for business.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback and am glad you enjoyed our in room dining. Equally, thank you for thank you for making mention of the outstanding service that you received from our Front Office team and in room dining staff.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I visited Adelaide gor a work conference and stayed at this hotel in 2009 and even though they had only recently become an intercontinental (taken over from Hyatt) there was so much more class. It's a prominent building in a fantastic location but upon returning earlier this month, I was disappointed by the look (it's exactly the same but duller) and feel (the life's been sapped) around the hotel.It wasnt all bad though, the bell boys were polite and efficient and my my room on the 20th floor was beautifully clean and the bed was great - very comfortable for a good night sleep. The staff were very friendly too but I get the feel they're not so proud of this once beautiful hotel as they were. When I asked what happened to the amazing seafood buffet i had in the main restaurant last time, the girl told me that pay-cuts meant there's not enough staff and the head chef had been tere too long and they wanted fresh eyes!! I decided to try the Room Service menu and whilst fairly a standard selection, the service was quick and very friendly and the food arrived warm. All in all, I find it hard to believe this is a 5* hotel compared to others in the same class around the world. With all the work going on in this precinct in the city, this hotel really needs a facelift before it becomes an eye sore in comparison. Looking forward to seeing their improvements one day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StoryCreater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear StoryCreater

Thank you for returning to InterContinental Adelaide and providing a review following your stay.

I was thrilled to read that our staff enhanced your experience with their warm hospitality. Thank you for also congratulating us on the clean and comfortable guestroom and options on our in room dining menu.

We take on board all comments seriously and your feedback is very much valued.

I hope to welcome you back for a future conference event or leisure opportunity.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I travelled to Adelaide for business and also because I really like the place. (The Adelaide Show was on too).

I had never stayed at the Adelaide Intercontinental previously.

Anyway, the taxi brought me from the Airport and the first thing that I noted at close quarters is that the hotel building looks "odd". It's quite tall in Adelaide.

Anyway, reception was extremely friendly, helpful and they sorted out my IHG Membership Card.

It's then you realise just how dark and enclosed it is in the foyer area.

I managed to find my room without too much trouble.

On entering my room I noted that it was reasonably spacious with great natural light, a sensible work area and it seemed clean and well appointed.

It was then that I started to notice things, the room was oddly shaped and there were odd doors in strange places that opened to reveal - the bathroom! (that was nice and had a walk in shower) and other things. The tea and coffee nook reminded my of my nana's place built in the 1940's. There are signs of age all over the place.

It would seem that most of the rooms are these odd designs as well. There is simply no way this building ever won an an architectural or design award.

The tariff included breakfast which was fine. I'm not complaining with smoked salmon, caper berries etc are on the buffet. Restaurant staff were helpful and professional to a tee.

I had a meeting in the lobby bar as well, this could do with some sprucing up. Come on!

Would I stay again? - I would need to check out what room upgrades are available.

Room Tip: It's an old hotel. If you get a good accommodation deal. then deal with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Michael J,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as an IHG Rewards Club member and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#16 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
1.1 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $172 - $413
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide
InterContinental Adelaide South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing