We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all depends on what you are after...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It all depends on what you are after...”
Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

The challenge I have here is that I stay at the IC about 100 nights per year so I am after the comfort of a long term relationship rather than the flashy excitement of a one night stand (pardon the pun). Interestingly enough it took an email to the GM to get some attention to what I considered to be unacceptable levels of service and the GM took time out to have a coffee with me (which we have repeated since) to explore my concerns. Since that time I have been treated extremely well and feel like a valued customer - something that was definitely missing last year before the current management team came on board.
Yes, there are plenty of things that could be improved - front of house is still too dependent on who you get - lucky I get Clare and Matthew most of the time, the Club lounge snacks could do with a refresh now and again, the marbling in the rooms is a bit daggy (but, realistically, far too expensive and disruptive to replace), the Docomo system is laggy and frustrating and the room service menu could be updated every now again but there is a lot to like about the place, especially if you are a regular...
The location is great, walking around the Torrens in the morning is a pleasure. The gym is the best in Adelaide (I know because I stayed at the rest of the Adelaide business hotels) and it has a steam room (so well hidden it took me five months to find), a sauna and a spa. The club lounge is like a home away from home but without TV and squabbling (but sometimes with far too many traveling Americans). Room service is great and the rooms now have new beds which are great - pillow menu would be an improvement.
So, bottom line, this is the best hotel to stay in Adelaide if you want a home away from home. If you just want glitz and glamour, well you probably should be heading to Sydney.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronduPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    633
    217
    58
    29
See reviews for
148
642
89
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne AU
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in a club suite with our 6 month old baby. The location was great. Very central. The suite was spacious, clean and quiet. The club was nice and the staff were terrific. My only criticism with the hotel is that the interior, while very clean, is looking dated and really needs a post-1980s renovation.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwerdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert D, Director of Marketing at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Gwerdna

On behalf of all the colleagues here at InterContinental Adelaide we would like to thank you for your positive and kind feedback during your most recent stay with us.

We were delighted you enjoyed so many aspects during your stay.

We also have pleasure in confirming that the property is going through a full renovation program during 2012 and 2013 and this will resolve your comments regarding the decor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and ensuring your next stay is as enjoyable.

On behalf of all the colleagues.

Kind regards

Rupert Diss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have an exceedingly bad habit of reading reviews, from worst reviews forward - and as such I had read quite a few negative things about the Intercontinental... And now? Well frankly, some people need to get out there and find something real to whine about!

The service here has been some of the best I have experienced in 5 years of regular travel throughout Australia. 4 different people I dealt with in regards to room service, EVERY one a genuine smile on their face and Very happy to help, one girl was exceptionally embarrassed about a single drop of spilled apple juice on the table cloth for my breakfast and took many assurances that it was fine!

Add this to the fact that the three young men on the front counter when I checked in were all helpful, had an obviously good team camaraderie and even gave me some casino vouchers which I happily used!

The room was much nicer than expected based upon some of the negative reviews, the bathroom was nice, and even though I'm the last person that needs a good view, it was spectacular (I was on the verge of checking out and my colleague thought I was an idiot for not opening the curtain to look outside at the fantastic river view, oops, my bad!)

As others have said, paying through the nose for internet usage is still pretty annoying in today's day and age of low cost internet, however it is still standard in Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney 4-5 star hotels, so fair call here also. Our corporate rate was lower than expected for a nice hotel, so impressed there.

Had dinner at Shiki, fantastic! Separate review submitted.

Can't wait to come back, location to casino is good.

Room Tip: If you want a view, probably best to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert D, Director of Marketing & Brand at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear David

On behalf of all the team here who are there to make a 'real' difference we would like to thank you for staying at the InterContinental Adelaide and we were delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Positive feedback like this only motivates the team to do even more and our satisfaction is derived from delivering on our brand promise of Great Hotels - Guests Love.

We don't always get it spot on but we work tirelessly in the background to deliver on just what you experienced.

Many of our guests always say the true meaning of luxury is giving them more time, so we try to engineer our services and hospitality design with this very much at the forefront of every team members mind.

Internet charges are being reviewed across the Company and we will make an announcement soon. We are also in throws of approving the new design proposals for a complete refurbishment of the property in 2012 - 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and if after the refurbishment lets just say 'you ain't seen nothing yet'!

Again many thanks for your time to detail your great experience.

We take this opportunity to invite you to join our InterContinental Adelaide Facebook Page which will keep you up to date with all the happenings and with some great prizes to be won too.

Kind regards

Rupert Diss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The first impression lasts, and the grand old dame Hyatt hasn't seen any improvement since being rebranded to Intercon.
The check-in is still dark and cold, the staff seem like they are reading from a script and asking for help with anything is met with a surprised look.
The Riverside breakfast is still cold, as has long been the case. Please learn how to supply hot plates as this might help make the cold eggs and bacon more palatable.
I wonder if paying the staff an extra dollar a day might buy me a smile?
The room was acceptable, but tired. I usually only use my room to sleep, so the hotels I use need to be vibrant, friendly and warm.
At this price level, I found the experience less than value.
Plus points? The wonderful function manager - she was perhaps the best I have worked with in australia
Minus points - not even close to 5star, old and tired rooms, poor service upon check-in and a seriously lacking breakfast offering.

For a better option, try Sebel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jameson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert D, Director of Marketing & Brand at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Cronker

Thank you for your detailed feedback highlighting some of the highs and lows during your most recent stay.

We are sorry your experience didn't live up to the high expectations you have of the InterContinental Brand on this occasion. We work tirelessly to get it 'right' and your feedback will be put to good use to ensure we constantly refine (through tangible actions) our hospitality services to each and every guest.

We are also delighted to confirm that the property is about to go through a complete refurbishment program in 2012 - 2013. This will answer many of the questions regarding the room product you refer to.

Prior to the refurbishment, which will see a brand new food and beverage product, we have duly noted a number of guest observations recently about the breakfast food temperature/plates and have already ordered a completely new service technology that will ensure the food and plates maintain their heat during the breakfast service.

Again we must thank you for detailing your experience, your comments are noted and actioned upon at senior management level. We all look forward to welcoming you back to 'new-fashioned' luxury post refurbishment and welcoming you to experience the difference with the product and the people.

Kind regards

Rupert Diss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have stayed here several times on the most recent time there has been a big emphasis in cost cutting by reducing the club room food selection and the quality of the wines available. When paying a premium price for a room with club privilidges you expect a good selection of food and wine. We have stayed at many similar properties with a club room but after recent changes I would say this was by far the most frugal a hotel has offered up to date.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatandPaulAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert D, Director of Marketing at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Nat and Paul

Thank you for your most recent feedback with your visit to the InterContinental Adelaide, we are delighted that you have visited us on several occasions and enjoyed your overall stay.

We were concerned to hear of your disappointment with the Club InterContinental food offering, particularly after only just recently redesigning this menu to meet the needs and wants of many of our guests, who have requested changes in the past to our staff.

It's this feedback that has shaped the new menu, however I will relay your expereince to the Executive Chef personally.

The devil is in the detail for us and we thank you for your time giving us extra insights to ensure we can always refine our operations and deliver on our brand promise of Great Hotels - Guests Love.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Rupert Diss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
1.1 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $132 - $342
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide
InterContinental Adelaide South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing