We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience South Australian Museum
from USD 100.00
More Info
from USD 15.35
More Info
from USD 12.31
More Info
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
759
515
113
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
759
515
113
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews giant squid stuffed animals aboriginal culture egyptian room pacific islands ancient egypt free entry few hours interactive displays great collection school holidays minerals australia biodiversity mammals megafauna antarctica
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2021

I first recall seeing the Ancient Egyptian Gallery many years ago, and it has changed little since. The Egyptian Gallery displays the religion, burial practices and religion of the Ancient Egyptians. It's a constant in an ever changing world; it has been at the heart of the South Australian Museum since 1939; parents introduce their children to the Egyptian Gallery, as their parents have done. Some things, such as the ancient Egyptian boomerang, never cease to amaze. Some displays have entered the digital age, but some galleries are timeless.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank 619jeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2021

We visited the museum primarily to see the diprotodon display as we had walked in their habitat near Burra. The display was interesting with a juvenile skulls found in Burra area. The museum was very busy due to school holidays. It is free.

We had to laugh at COVID strategy. They closed off all the interactive displays on screens but kids could touch ice and other items in the Antarctic area.... and no social distancing.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

I visited this museum on my resent visit to adelaide impressive stone building very good displays of aboriginal life on second floor antarctic display of morsins expedition to antarctica good covit health measures well set out cafe reasonable priced a great way to see things of the past very good displays of stuffed animals very knowledgeable volunteers

Date of experience: April 2021
2  Thank Y9976NNdavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2021

We enjoyed spending some time at the South Australian Museum. I can recomment it especially to families with children.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2021

Have not been here for many years (about 25 years) spent 3 hours looking around. Lots of information and displays. The only negative is due to Covid-19 restrictions the numerous interactive screens normally available were not available due to hygiene concerns so limited in many cases accessing information about displays. Overall still quite interesting.

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank huju80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews