We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience South Australian Museum
from USD 99.46
More Info
from USD 15.35
More Info
from USD 12.31
More Info
Reviews (1,406)
Filter reviews
1,406 results
Traveller rating
759
514
113
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
759
514
113
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews giant squid stuffed animals aboriginal culture egyptian room pacific islands few hours interactive displays great collection school holidays australia biodiversity megafauna antarctica boomerang galleries geographic sa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 1,406 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2019

I went to the museum to see the Australia National Geographic Photo Exhibit which was great. Then I wandered around the museum, what I found most interesting was the opal exhibit. I learned so much. Definitely worth visiting if you're in the area.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank SoloMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2019 via mobile

We loved our visit to this museum. It’s free and has visitors of all ages captured by the several different floors of exhibits. There are whale and dinosaurs exhibits, mammal exhibitors, aboriginal and Pacific island exhibits. We particularly loved the Antarctic exhibit complete with pictures and films of the first explorers of this difficult land. Wonderfully done. The mineral section and also the beginning of sea life exhibits with fossils also interesting. Also the model of a giant Squid which reaches 4 stores!! A must see and do in Adelaide!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 568murrayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

very interactive displays, well set out and room to sit and admire displays. Great gift shop with a good variety of products

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank KathyS220990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

I think this museum does a really good job. Entry is free and all the exhibits are great. Never seems too busy despite being fairly small. Staff very helpful too.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CaneloLeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2019

The SA Museum may not be the largest in Australia, but its collections are better organised than those in Sydney and Melbourne. This makes the visitor experience better. The Victorian Museum wins on technology as it is in a new building.
Located in the cultural precinct on North Terrace, it is well sited for inter-state visitors.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank GordonplusE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews