We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lackluster”

A Taste of South Australia - Day Tours
Ranked #33 of 69 Food & Drink in Adelaide
Attraction details
Reviewed 14 December 2017

This was an “OK” tour. Our guide was pleasant and knowledgable but did not have an interesting narrative. This made the day sort of boring. We were not interested in spending our time going from vineyard to vineyard for wine tastings and perhaps that was a factor; however, we were under the impression that there could be focus on other features of Barossa Valley. Our guide suggested that we first drive through certain sections of Adelaide and visit historic sites to give us some insight into the background of the city. We complied to be agreeable but we had already toured much of the city and hearing more of its history was only mildly interesting. After this, we set off to the Barossa Valley for our first stop at Mengler’s Hill, a scenic overlook of the valley with an interesting collection of sculpture in the park below. From there we were taken to Yalumba for a wine tasting. This was an enjoyable experience but enough for us. We opted to continue on to our lunch at Vintners Bar & Grill in Angaston. This was disappointing to say the least. The “modern twist” signature of the chef was a bit weird. We were given a choice of 3 courses from the menu and it was difficult to spot anything on the menu that appealed to us. Unfortunately, our selections were not enjoyable. Another disappointment is that we were under the impression that we would also have the option to visit a brewery, as my spouse prefers beer to wine. This was discussed with both our travel agent and with the operator of the company, Mary Anne, who called the day before to discuss our interests. Our guide did not seem to have this on the agenda and really didn't know where to take us. He drove to Stein’s at Provenance Barossa and went inside to inquire and found that it was strictly a taproom. This was not at all what we had in mind, so we passed on it and decided to head back to the city.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank n1cf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mary anne"
in 6 reviews
"private tour"
in 5 reviews
"barossa valley"
in 11 reviews
"south australia"
in 4 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 3 reviews
"cellar door"
in 2 reviews
"vintners"
in 3 reviews
"yalumba"
in 3 reviews
"interests"
in 4 reviews
"winery"
in 8 reviews
"guide"
in 13 reviews
"knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"rockport"
in 2 reviews
"info"
in 2 reviews
"wineries"
in 6 reviews
"company"
in 2 reviews
"cheese"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Mary Anne and the daytrip to Barossa was great. She is a great guide and has a great knowledge about winemaking, wine and the history behobd the winemakers. I would highly recomend this trip. Sidsel

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Sofie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We did a full day private tour with Mary Anne and visited Langmeil, Peter Lehman, Seppeltsfield Wines and finished at Yalumba. We had a delicious lunch at Fino at Seppeltsfield as well. Mary Anne set up private and semi-private tastings at each winery and the wines and cellar door guides were wonderful. While it was a very full day and we saw and learned a lot, it was not rushed at all. Mary Anne had everything organized and kept us on schedule. Highly recommended if you only have a day and want to really understand the history and best wines of Barossa Valley. Thanks Mary Anne!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank mhaley311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary k, Owner at A Taste of South Australia - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

`Marianne and Mark, it was a pleasure travelling with you and thank you for your kind words, more wine regions to explore next time ! cheers mary anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

I tried multiple times, through the website, calling, leaving messages, emailing (everything except the post!) to get in touch with Maryanne to book in a wine tour for a group of friends. I only ever received one email back from her asking if I still needed help with my booking. I responded, saying that I did and then never heard anything from her again.

In the end, I booked my own wine tour and transport independently - it has worked out cheaper for all of us and a much easier process than trying to go through Taste of SA.

Would not recommend this "service" as I don't believe I received any. It wasn't even bad customer service, there was just none.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Maddison_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We spent a great day on February 25th, 2017 with our guide Christopher touring the McLaren Vale area I had received a pleasant call from Mary Anne the night before our tour so Christopher customized the tour based on our requests. Since it was Saturday, our first stop was the Wallunga Farmers Market for a browse. We went to 2 wineries and then to a delicious, gourmet lunch at Woodstock winery followed by 2 more wineries. We had time to do more wineries but not the inclination. Christopher knew about our plans to tram the Glenelg and Holdfast bay on the next day. Since we had time to spare, Christopher offered to take us back to town via the popular beach side resort. We accepted and were able to see a lot more than we would have on the tram. We had a nice stroll along the board walk. We found Christopher to be a knowledgeable and amiable guide. We would wholeheartedly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank JCMV54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary k, Owner at A Taste of South Australia - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

We are so pleased you had a great day with Chris and appreciate your kind words, cheers mary anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Taste of South Australia - Day Tours also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to A Taste of South Australia - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing