We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Craig
Canberra, Australia

Wonderful location, views and nostalgia; limitations in facilities & delivery.

Review of Oval Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024
Second stay at The Oval for a few days. There are pluses & minuses. The location, ambience & nostalgia value are wonderful particularly for ex-South-Aussies. The rooms however are compact and lack amenities. Very comfortable beds (generally), but no kitchen facilities-limited fridge with no freezer; no microwave, limited bench space. Also no guest laundry on-site. Not convenient for travellers. Parking is expensive on top of accommodation fees at $50 per day. Food- on this occasion was quite poor. First night room service meal was awful-reported and received refund. Other meals on-site were at best average. Views from restaurant and deck area are wonderful though. Bedding on night one was inferior with stiff crackling sheets which we sought to have replaced. Shower leak reported for repair; lift unservicable one evening. The Oval probably should lift its game as an SA icon-much like the Crows.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Seek package deals via Luxury Escapes-there's some great offers including parking and some meals.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you CTW112 for taking the time to share your review of Oval Hotel. It is wonderful to hear of the many elements that you enjoyed of your experience here with us. Of course we do wish that it was a five star experience that you had been looking for. Your commentary for improvements is certainly reviewed internally.

Kind regards, Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • InterContinental
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$185
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • MGallery
    AU$249
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$221
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$200
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Main Entrance at Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Oval Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$127
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
CrownePlaza.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$286
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$161
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Pullman
    AU$215
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Adelaide
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
319
100
40
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
319
100
40
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink cathedral suite st peters cathedral automatic curtains breakfast overlooking the underground car park great state valet parking room service rain shower reception area walking distance to the city breakfast was amazing restaurant staff floor to ceiling windows beautiful hotel opened the door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at this superb hotel. Immaculately clean and modern and with the most helpful staff you could wish for we ate in the restaurant overlooking the oval and it was superb. Ferocious air conditioning which was so welcome in the what. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JamesE534
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

Thank you James for the high recommendation. It is a real pleasure to hear of so many elements of the Oval experience that you enjoyed. As a UK traveller we might not have the chance to welcome you again so soon but I do hope that at some time there will be another opportunity.

Many thanks, Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024

A fantastic venue for business groups.
The rooms were comfortable and quiet, the eating areas were sophisticated and modern, the food was of the highest quality and staff were friendly and attentive.
I would highly recommend this venue, thank you

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

Thank you Shannon for reviewing your stay at Oval Hotel. It is wonderful to hear from a guest travelling for business as we do believe we have something for all travellers.

I do hope that we can welcome you again to Oval Hotel.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024 via mobile

You are wowed from the moment you walk in! Being able to stay at the incredible Adelaide Oval is something everyone should experience. The decor is amazing and the rooms stunning, very clean and large. The staff were all so friendly and welcoming. It has great amenities including complimentary tea, hot chocolate and coffee in the reception. The location in the city and proximity to the central train station made getting around super easy. We can’t wait to visit again!

Room tip: Very close walk to central train station
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cheeseaholic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you Cheeseaholic13 for staying with us at Oval Hotel and of course for sharing your experience. We too believe that the Oval Hotel experience is unique and would love to share it with everyone. We love our Hotel, we love our Oval and we love sharing in memory making experiences.

We can't wait to welcome you here again.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Opulent but understated The Oval Hotel is a beautifully designed hotel discreetly attached to the world class Adelaide Oval. We had a relaxing stay Christmas Eve in an elegantly furnished room with amazing views. Every staff member we dealt with was warm and friendly and genuinely interested in us having a memorable stay. 5 stars from me

Room tip: Perfectly placed halfway between city of Adelaide & North Adelaide. Walking distance to so much of Adelaide
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T509SAmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you T509SAmichaels for sharing this review of your time here at Oval Hotel. It is a review such as this one that fills us with immense pride and the confidence to continue providing the experience that we strive to share with all our guests.

This review means a lot to me and the Oval Hotel team.

Thank you - Mieke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2024

Spent one night here after the women's one day international at the Oval. The room was lovely, the service was superb, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We had a wonderful time and we will definitely return to this excellent hotel in future.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brittny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Thank you Brittnyh for choosing to stay at Oval Hotel and extend your Adelaide Oval Game day experience. I am so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time and will return. Nothing makes us happier.

Till the next time...

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews