We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kerry G

Excellent

Review of Oval Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2024
The whole experience was great. The staff, dinner,breakfast,room and valet parking were all excellent. We were only there one night but it was a lovely mini getaway. I would recommend the Oval Hotel to anyone who would like to come and enjoy some shopping and enjoying the magnificent parkland and then have a delightful dinner whilst enjoying the sunset over the Oval. Breakfast was enjoyed while watching the groundstaff prepare for the women's one day match that day,
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 Feb 2024
Thank you Kerry for the 5 star review. It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed all that Oval Hotel has to offer; proximity to the city, views, fine food and fine service. We really appreciate this recognition and that you have chosen to share this experience.

I certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you here to Oval Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • InterContinental
    AU$187
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$195
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$218
  • MGallery
    AU$224
0.8 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$166
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Main Entrance at Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$179
  • Priceline
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
0.7 km from Oval Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$167
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    AU$167
  • Priceline
    AU$167
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$109
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$257
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$232
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$119
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Oval Hotel
Room service
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$135
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$132
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Adelaide
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
322
100
40
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
322
100
40
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink cathedral suite st peters cathedral automatic curtains breakfast overlooking the underground car park great state valet parking room service rain shower reception area walking distance to the city breakfast was amazing restaurant staff floor to ceiling windows beautiful hotel opened the door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Bed was like a marshmallow to sleep on!
Guest experience was great, staff were super friendly and helpful with everything we asked. Features in the room were great (loved the touch of a button of almost everything)
I live in Adelaide but being so close to the city and being able to walk everywhere was great rather than driving around trying to find parking

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lilli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

It is a pleasure to read your review; thank you for sharing! I certainly love your reference to our luxe beds.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you here again for a easy staycation.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

The bed and pillows were great. But there was no mention their main restaurant was permanently closed. The coffee shop and the malthouse brewery aren't in the hotel.
Unimpressed with the water temperature in the shower. Even adjusted to the maximum the water was tepid. Yet the water in the sink was quite hot.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Thank you for sharing you review of Oval Hotel. Naturally, we too are disappointed that your experience was not of a five star rating; we are sorry that we fell short of your expectations.

Our main restaurant is Bespoke Bar Wine and Kitchen is still open. Our degustation, fine dining restaurant Five Regions which was open Thursday to Saturday is the one that is now permanently closed. We have this information on the websites to assist guests as well as the information relating to KoffeeInk and Malt Shovel Taphouse. I can see that you booked via a third party website hence I will review what we can do there to best explain this to our wider community.

I do though hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you here again for a stay to remember for all the right reasons.

Many thanks, Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

Lovely hotel with great amenities. We had the deluxe package with a cathederal view, valet parking, drink on arrival, bottle of bubbles for our room and breakfast the next day. It was a wonderful indulgence. Staff were friendly. The view over Adelaide Oval whilst having breakfast is first class and so therapeutic.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beancounter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay here with us at Oval Hotel. A deluxe package is certainly a wonderful offering and I am so thrilled that we delivered on this experience and made it a stay to remember.

I certainly hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again to Oval Hotel or even just to breakfast at Bespoke to receive some more of that therapeutic offering.

Kind regards, Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2024 via mobile

Exceptional room and the most comfy bed and pillows 🤍 we stayed for our anniversary and were spoilt with complimentary chocolates and welcome drink. Service was professional and prompt , would definitely recommend for anyone celebrating a special occasion or simply wanting a five star stay

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Thank you Kel for choosing to celebrate your anniversary here at Oval Hotel. It is always a pleasure to be a part of memory making moments and so pleased that you enjoyed your Oval Hotel experience. Perhaps we will be able to welcome you again next year, if not sooner. Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024

The rooms are really quiet and the bed is very comfortable. The only issue we had was the pressure in the shower was not great with the rainfall head. We used both the rainfall and the small hand held option to give us some more pressure. The location is very convenient to the city.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ptpower2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Thank you Ptpower for sharing your experience at Oval Hotel. We certainly note your reference into the water pressure and will investigate accordingly as this is not common to receive feedback as such.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you here again, perhaps during the AFL season.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews