We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lanthi L

The best hotel in Adelaide!

Review of Oval Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Oct 2023
The Oval is a fabulous place to stay. The staff were exceptional, the hotel is stunning and the room as beautiful as it looked online. Everything you could need is in the room, the restaurant, bar and Cafe do not disappoint.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 1 Nov 2023
Thank you Ian!! What can we say except thank you!

We are so appreciative that you chose to stay with us and we certainly hope it won't be the last.

Best regards,

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$215
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$221
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • InterContinental
    AU$187
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
AU$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$97
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Hotel Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$103
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$133
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$142
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Oval Hotel
Room service
Fitness centre
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Adelaide
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
321
100
40
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
321
100
40
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink cathedral suite st peters cathedral automatic curtains breakfast overlooking the underground car park great state valet parking room service rain shower reception area walking distance to the city breakfast was amazing restaurant staff floor to ceiling windows beautiful hotel opened the door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2023

Loved the set up and food was amazing. Please pass my appreciation to the chef.but my room was next to the main entry at level 3. Whenever some one access the main door, I can feel the vibrations and hear the noises in my room which caused multiple interruptions at night and disrupted my sleep. I did complain about it to the reception, and they changed my room but I was forced to sleep another night in the same room as no other room was available. Didn’t sleep well for 2 nights, hence rating is low. Thanks

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harsh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Thank you 911harshr for taking the time to review Oval Hotel.

I certainly understand the reasoning for the rating you provided. Naturally, we certainly wish that this maintenance issue could have been resolved. It is by no means our common standard of service levels and a maintenance problem we have now resolved.

If there is anything else though that I can assist with then please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Kind regards, Mieke Sellers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2023

The hotel had friendly staff and very soft beds. The room was very modern and clean and we had a lovely view of St Peter’s Cathedral. Loved the experience, will definitely be back again. Breakfast was tasty and was nice to look out over the oval while we ate.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicole369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

It is a pleasure to read your review and know that your stay at Oval Hotel was one that was rememberable for all the right reasons. We certainly hope we can welcome you again.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2023

Fourth stay and delighted to see that v V the quality and upkeep are on point. Amazing view of our Cathedral from our spacious & well appointed room. Staff are your greatest asset, assisted Day 1 by an obliging handy man with new key on phone process and with reception staff Re valet parking and bubbles. We’ll be back …

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Thank you Carl for being a loyal guest to Oval Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that we continue to provide you with the service and experience that all our guests deserve.

We can't wait to welcome you back again.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2023

Great venue…and the Five Regions restaurant was amazing. Treat yourself to a great experience with a sporting twist. Breakfast with a view of Adelaide Oval, lunch watching a state one day game…sport lovers dream.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stay02431073633
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Thank you for your very kind 5 star review. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience our award winning Five Regions Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2023 via mobile

This was our second visit and we really love this hotel. We had dinner in the Five Regions restaurant and it was a very pleasant experience. Food and service were great. Breakfast in Bespoke was also good love the Granita and fresh fruit with juice. There was a scheduled cricket game and we watched the preparations.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susie8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Thank you Susie for your lovely review. We are so pleased to be able to welcome you back to Oval Hotel for your second stay. We have to agree, breakfast doesn’t get much better with such a picturesque backdrop. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews