We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Emma H
Adelaide, Australia

Only stayed for one night, but hope to return soon and stay for longer!

Review of Oval Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Oct 2023
I booked last minute and I’m very glad I did! Unfortunately the stay was only one night, so I endeavour to return again to make the most of it. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the room had a stunning view of North Adelaide.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 31 Oct 2023
One night is just not long enough Emma but are glad that you were able to experience the luxury and comfort of Oval Hotel. We can’t wait to welcome you back again for you to have a chance to enjoy all Oval Hotel has to offer.

Thank you for sharing your feedback and staying with us.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$253
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$204
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$186
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$160
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$115
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Exterior view
AU$151
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Oval Hotel
Room service
Fitness centre
AU$218
  • Booking.com
  • Pullman
    AU$218
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$143
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$220
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$159
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
View more hotels in Adelaide
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
321
100
40
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
321
100
40
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink cathedral suite st peters cathedral automatic curtains breakfast overlooking the underground car park great state valet parking room service rain shower reception area walking distance to the city breakfast was amazing restaurant staff floor to ceiling windows beautiful hotel opened the door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2023

The views from the lounge on arrival, the room with the automatic blinds and the dining room in Bespoke were outstanding both day and night and greatly added to the experience. The complimentary drink on arrival was also much appreciated as was access to the coffee machine in the lounge. We loved the room as well which was ultra modern ,spotless, and very comfortable. All in all, a very pleasant and memorable stay.

Room tip: Provide a pro forma in the room to record any problems. We had a toilet seat that was very loose and a shower pole that dislodged. Reported.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dlow9281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Thank you for such a kind review. The comfort and views certainly make for a luxury stay, all aspects of the Oval Hotel were designed with thought and purpose to enhance the experience and offer our guests a stay to remember.

I do hope we will see you here again.

Best regards, Mieke and the Oval Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

The view from our room each morning was breathtaking, with the sun coming-up over the park and cathedral, it really was a pleasure to open the curtains at the push of a button! Everything was push button, from the electronic tablet that controlled everything and acted as a phone, to the shower in the ensuite bathroom. The hotel is superbly appointed and you can't help but marvel at the Oval itself when taking breakfast or having a glass of wine in the evening. The staff are approachable and helpful, always on hand to offer advice and deliver service with a smile. The location is superb, within a few minutes' walk of the CBD, the Festival Centre, the riverside, shops, restaurants and bars.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 783jaimieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Wow Jaimie, we couldn’t have said it better ourselves! Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a positive review of your stay. We are so proud of the experience we offer our guests and always endeavour to ensure guest leave with fond memories…and a want to return.

We certainly hope we can welcome you again soon.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2023

The most amazing place I have ever stayed at. The bed and the pillows are amazing, my bed at home is lacking in comfort now that I have slept at the oval hotel. Delicious room service, we utilised this to full potential. The hotel was easy to find and has great parking. Will be back to stay for sure!!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Discover56743102084
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Thank you for this incredibly humbling review. Guest experience is at the core of Oval Hotel and I am so pleased to read your feedback. We do in fact sell our beds and pillows so when you look to upgrade be sure to reach out!

Many thanks, Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Great service, lovely ambience and the best hotel bed in Adelaide, hands down! Super comfortable!
Dinner in Bespoke was divine and the wine list is extensive. The food, the wine and the service were delightful!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

It is a pleasure to read your feedback. Thank you for staying and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you have a lovely year of marriage and hopefully we will be lucky enough to share the next year's celebration with you.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2023

Everything was first class, nice views over the Adelaide Hills, the River Torrens, having breakfast being able to look at the inside of the oval was a cricket lovers dream, the groundsmen gong about thier preparation for the up comng season was well worth it.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Thank you Greg for sharing feedback on your stay at Oval Hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful experience and were lucky enough to be here to see the changeover between Footy and Cricket season. Seeing the pitch replacement is always something spectacular.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you here again.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews