We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jaimie B
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom

An oasis of luxurious calm at the centre of all the action.

Review of Oval Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Oct 2023
The view from our room each morning was breathtaking, with the sun coming-up over the park and cathedral, it really was a pleasure to open the curtains at the push of a button! Everything was push button, from the electronic tablet that controlled everything and acted as a phone, to the shower in the ensuite bathroom. The hotel is superbly appointed and you can't help but marvel at the Oval itself when taking breakfast or having a glass of wine in the evening. The staff are approachable and helpful, always on hand to offer advice and deliver service with a smile. The location is superb, within a few minutes' walk of the CBD, the Festival Centre, the riverside, shops, restaurants and bars.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 31 Oct 2023
Wow Jaimie, we couldn’t have said it better ourselves! Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a positive review of your stay. We are so proud of the experience we offer our guests and always endeavour to ensure guest leave with fond memories…and a want to return.

We certainly hope we can welcome you again soon.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$203
Fully refundable
  • Mayfair Hotel
    AU$249
  • Agoda.com
    AU$188
  • Expedia.com
    AU$220
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$224
  • MGallery
    AU$224
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$210
  • Expedia.com
    AU$224
0.8 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$187
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$187
  • Algotels
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$187
0.6 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$189
  • Agoda.com
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
    AU$189
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
  • Agoda.com
    AU$128
  • Hotels.com
    AU$156
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$109
  • Expedia.com
    AU$115
  • Priceline
    AU$99
  • Hotels.com
    AU$115
0.9 km from Oval Hotel
AU$269
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$259
  • Hotel Website
    AU$299
6.0 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$167
  • CrownePlaza.com
    AU$167
  • Vio.com
    AU$162
  • Expedia.com
    AU$167
1.2 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
AU$151
  • Expedia.com
    AU$151
  • Hotels.com
    AU$151
  • Vio.com
    AU$151
1.1 km from Oval Hotel
Room service
Fitness centre
AU$135
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    AU$135
  • Algotels
    AU$128
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
2.4 km from Oval Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Adelaide
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
322
100
40
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
322
100
40
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink cathedral suite st peters cathedral automatic curtains breakfast overlooking the underground car park great state valet parking room service rain shower reception area walking distance to the city breakfast was amazing restaurant staff floor to ceiling windows beautiful hotel opened the door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2023

The most amazing place I have ever stayed at. The bed and the pillows are amazing, my bed at home is lacking in comfort now that I have slept at the oval hotel. Delicious room service, we utilised this to full potential. The hotel was easy to find and has great parking. Will be back to stay for sure!!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Discover56743102084
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Thank you for this incredibly humbling review. Guest experience is at the core of Oval Hotel and I am so pleased to read your feedback. We do in fact sell our beds and pillows so when you look to upgrade be sure to reach out!

Many thanks, Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Great service, lovely ambience and the best hotel bed in Adelaide, hands down! Super comfortable!
Dinner in Bespoke was divine and the wine list is extensive. The food, the wine and the service were delightful!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

It is a pleasure to read your feedback. Thank you for staying and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you have a lovely year of marriage and hopefully we will be lucky enough to share the next year's celebration with you.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2023

Everything was first class, nice views over the Adelaide Hills, the River Torrens, having breakfast being able to look at the inside of the oval was a cricket lovers dream, the groundsmen gong about thier preparation for the up comng season was well worth it.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Thank you Greg for sharing feedback on your stay at Oval Hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful experience and were lucky enough to be here to see the changeover between Footy and Cricket season. Seeing the pitch replacement is always something spectacular.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you here again.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2023

The whole Oval experience was completely positive. Nothing to add, as nothing needs to change. Our friends stayed for five nights and loved everything about it. A very pleasant part of their recent visit to Adelaide from the UK.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank barbaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

How wonderful to receive such a glowing review from overseas travellers. We are so proud of the Oval experience and so proud to have received your feedback. Thank you for sharing and thank you to your friends for choosing us as their holiday destination.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2023

Fantastic experience from start to finish. From the moment we entered the room we were in the lap of luxury. Automatic curtains open, soft courtesy lighting slowly illuminates the room. The view of Cathedral spectacular. Ipad controls for everything else. A shower that has either soft or hard rain. The bed was the most comfortable i have ever slept in. The view from the bar over the magnificent oval is breathtaking . So much to do in the city with the casino on your doorstep . MEMORABLE, loved it!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mieke Sellers, Guest Services / Front Office at Oval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Thank you ever so much Andy for choosing to celebrate the 60th birthday here at Oval Hotel. We are so pleased to be apart of this occasion and that it will hold such fond memories for you all.

We certainly hope that we can welcome you here again.

Mieke and the Oval Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews