We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“An excellent property”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Centrally located, clean and well priced . This is one of the best choices in the CBD. The bar is a little pokey but when the staff are on the ball it's pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    660
    132
    32
    15
See reviews for
210
578
111
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I had arrived tired hungry and was hoping was a nice warm meal at the restaurant Red Salt but alas this was not meant to be as apparently it was too late at 9.25pm, the restaurant was closed (although people were still around eating etc). I wandered into the unwelcoming bar and then restaurant with no service and then suddenly this manager by the name Adam appeared and asked what i wanted, when told i was hoping to have dinner he bluntly said the restaurant is closed, i was suprised as it was only 9.25pm. So i said closed so early? Adam replied in a shocked mocking manner- '' so early'??. he then said that they had a busy day and therefore would be closing early that day.I asked where can i then have a meal and was directed to go to the bar. The attitude of the restaurant manager Adam was just nasty, rude,arrogant and talking down to a guest tone and manner. I felt so disgusted just ruined my arrival experience and i lost my appetite for dinner adn slept hungry that night. I refused to support the Food and beverage after being treated like i was a tramp trying to get a free meal and being told to get lost. I cannot accept that a business class hotel like this one can close a restaurant at 9.30pm and shoo people away. This manager - Adam was unapologetic and just plain arrogant and rude but perhaps this is the kind of style of service this hotel is proud of as nobody seemed to think anything of it, i was at the front desk and the Duty Manager was called about this and he just stood there acting like what's the big deal and i'm sorry to have disturbed whatever he was doing in his office. The front office was well aware that i was chased out of the restaurant was was upset and hungry but they did nothing for service recovery or even a thoughtful caring call to my room to see if i wanted a room service option, no care at all, nothing. This expereince ruined the whole stay here and i was unhappy throughout the 2 days i was here, this was my second stay and i remembered the first time here last year i had enjoyed Red Salt dining but this was not to be this time so had to look for dining options outside the hotel. The Front office staff who checked me in was the same lady i met last year and my record showed i was here before and yet i did not get a simple warm welcome back - nothing just cold mechanical going through the motions robotic service. I even had to carry my own bags to the room no service staff around and when i asked if my bags would be sent to my room the FO staff looked stunned like i had asked for something out of the ordinary beyond her comprehension. The room itself was a small tiny room, no view nothing to talk about. The only good thing is the location so maybe their arrogant attitude comes from thinking they are the best new hotel around but sadly it's all hardware and no heart at all. I guess if you like your hotel service cold arrogant with an attitude you might think this is cool but for me this is nothing but a cold nasty hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidcmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Pretty hard to find faults in this accomodation. Right from the valet parking to the check in it was really good. Rooms are very good, likewise the bathroom. We had a meal at their restaurant which was nice but a touch overpriced. Location is very close to Rundle Mall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilbycr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza only to get the rooms manager check us in he was nervous and we could tell that he wasnt used to the reception desk. How ever the young girl on the desk made our checkin more personal by greeting us with a smile and asking how our day had been much rather that young lady than rooms manager! Maybe he could do with some re-training

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_travels1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed on 29/2/2012 and feel compelled to write a review already.

Was greated in a friendly manner after leaving my car with the valet and all was great with check-in, was even upgraded so no complaints.

Problems are with poor lighting in the room for working at the desk and can't see the TV from the desk as it is fixed to the wall out of view, in fact you can really only watch it in bed.

My real problem though was when I rang and ordered room service while I worked and had to ring back 90 minutes later to find they didn't know anything about my order.

Ended up going to hungry Jacks at the corner instead of waiting the 45-60 minutes quoted to get something to me

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.9 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.7 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.9 km away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): $118 - $273
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing