We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and delightful”
Review of Drunkn Monkey

Drunkn Monkey
Ranked #547 of 1,891 Restaurants in Adelaide
Description: Drunkn Monkey is an unique Indian Restaurant with a mission to quench your taste bud from a variety of our tapas choices,vibrant curries & South Indian crepes.
Restaurant details
Description: Drunkn Monkey is an unique Indian Restaurant with a mission to quench your taste bud from a variety of our tapas choices,vibrant curries & South Indian crepes.
Reviewed 9 July 2018

What a lovely surprise! We had not heard of this place before and are so glad we went, the food was delicious, the vibe of the place was unique. The staff were wonderful, very helpful with selections and all the food we shared had been cooked to perfection. I would recommend the banquet per person, the variety you get is amazing. We loved the vegetable dishes, especially the cauliflower dish and we had more than enough food to share. We will be back!!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raelene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018

We have tried this restaurant twice. Once was for a takeaway a few weeks ago. They swapped out one of my main dishes and didn't inform us. Plus we have to wait 1 hour and 10 min for the delivery. I called them 3 times and even then it was so late - all the food had gotten cold and soggy. To their credit, they apologised.

However, I decided to give them another chance and went with 10 other friends last Friday. The evening started off with a waitress dropping a tray of drinks on my back. I had lassi and all sorts of drinks on my clothes and back. That waitress was very sweet and apologised so no big deal.

Then there was this waitress called Mandy who served us. She had such an arrogant attitude. We ordered a banquet menu. She told us we could order anything from the menu we wanted for the banquet and she would ensure we would have enough of it for everyone. So after taking our orders once the entrees arrived we realised this was not the case. We ordered 4 (small) entree size prawns. She brought out one plate of prawns and after asking 4 times she brought out the second plate of prawns. She never brought out the rest. So we got 1 prawn each. And same for other entrees. Then she told us that the week before they wasted a lot of food so this week they won't bring out too much so they waste (why is that our problem when we are paying for a banquet). She then proceeded to tell us - "you are very full and won't need so much food". She kept telling us "how full" we were so many times. We were all still starving after the entree. The way she talked to us - as if she was doing us a huge favour!

The other problem was that 2 of us were Dairy free and Gluten Free but it seemed very hard for them to accommodate this request. I asked her a few times to ask the chef something but she just would not do it. She was just stubborn and arrogant.

The chef was good and the food tasted good but the service was absolutely shocking.
Definitely, do not recommend going to this restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank shanno09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Simple and nice menu, good ambience, informative service. We went to lunch over there. Manny , Karthi and Natraj they are doing a good job,,,

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank hasan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Had gone with my team for Dinner and should say the food was really well presented and delicious

The starters were all unique and presented in Master Chef style. The mains and naan bread was perfect...the Mango Kulfi at the end was the highlight of the night

The only thing missing was some high end wines as all the wines on the list was ordinary. Also the staff were amazing and they did there best on a super busy night. Maybe they needed an extra . All in all great experience and the whole team was super happy. Well done!!!!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Piyush V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRUNKN M, Owner at Drunkn Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thanks piyush for your kind feedback. It was pleasure to serve you Guys. Looking forward to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Overall, had an average dining experience here. Nothing was wrong but nothing was exceptional either. The tapas were alright, the tandoori chicken and naan was ok too. Service was decent/average. Just one of those places that leaves you feeling it was average.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank N V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drunkn Monkey also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Drunkn Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing