We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
18
52
56
41
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
52
56
41
63
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Had to return to this hotel once I was back in Adelaide. Prices are still very hard to beat, plus the location is just so handy to central attractions.
The place has changed hands since last time (almost two years ago), and to be honest it didn't feel quite so welcoming as it might have previously been. The young staff don't seem to have much warmth & charm about them, although thankfully there were a couple of exceptions.
The midweek dinner specials no longer exist, so the menu is not quite as compelling as last time, but you can't hold that against them. It's a lovely little bar/eating area regardless.
Despite what some might say about the condition of the rooms, mine was once again all I could ask for. The bed was huge (two singles merged?), and certainly comfortable. The clear and unavoidable downside was the noise outside in the adjacent laneway. I don't know what time those street sweepers, garbage trucks or deliveries start but it is way too early for the racket they make (repeatedly).
Still, I will be back again as it's such good value and an ideal central location.

Room Tip: Ask about getting a room on the opposite side to where the alley is, whilst also keeping an eye on the varying room sizes offered.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forbes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This seemed to be all that was available in the $200ish per night category for the first week of March, which was Writers Week and Festival time, and, unbeknownst to us, also a motor event. And we booked a few weeks ahead, too! We stayed for six nights but I wouldn't recommend staying more than two or three at the most, as it's basic but clean; our room was dark most of the day because of the way other buildings surround the old hotel. It has a charm to it, and there is one of those ancient lifts (works fine) as well as stairs. The room in the picture here must be one of the renovated ones as ours was nothing like this! Breakfast is provided and not too bad (cereals, toast, coffee, tea, juice, etc) and is in room on first floor. No hairdryer supplied, nothing to put your toiletries on in bathroom which was awkward, kettle and teabags and biscuits provided. Nothing flash but great for getting to places as very close to North Terrace and various good restaurants and cafes; perfect for those who want to go to cultural stuff like the Festival and Writers Week and concerts, as well as musuem and art gallery and lovely library.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I arrived after 930pm so I had to find a staff member to check me in, he was friendly though and gave me plenty of information about the hotel lay out and how to get to my room. The hotel interior is quite old, the elevator is manual and only serves two floors so we had to climb stairs to level 3. The bedding was quite below average, I discovered hairs on the bottom sheet so slept on top of the covers. Air conditioning was pleasant however. Budget accommodation for a centrally located hotel - nothing more.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

This is a good clean budget hotel. It is in a great location in the centre of the city. I did find it was quite noisy at night as not soundproof to the outside. AC was also quite noisy, although it was effective controlling the very hot temperatures. One of the lights didn't work and I couldn't get cold water. However staff were very helpful and friendly, and it is good value for what you get.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Annie11270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

The Ambassador Hotel is centrally located in Adelaide’s CBD. It is very cheap to stay
at compared to other 5 star hotels nearby.

It’s is an old historic hotel that definitely needs restoring, and after speaking to the new owner this is what is going to begin to happen in 2018.

The rooms are large and there are unique features in the historic building. You can see that this was once a beautiful grand hotel, but it’s definitely been neglected.

The new owner owns another hotel and has brought in some of his top staff to begin the rebirth of this local landmark. The staff are friendly and efficient.

The hotel has gaming machines, a lovely bar and lounge, and a sunroom type dining room. It has a small laundry with coin operated machines. It has a happy hour and a continental breakfast that is included in the price. The queen sized bed was new, and very comfortable:

At the moment it’s cheap to stay at, and you cannot expect to have a top quality room - yet!

Well worth keeping in your mind as this hotel has real potential. We would certainly try it again later in the year 2018.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank peterwT2266CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews