We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary experience ”

Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience
Ranked #149 of 1,147 things to do in South Australia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience is a marine experience, once done, you will never forget. None of the marine mammals of Baird Bay have ever been fed, nor have they been enticed in any other way. The interaction is entirely of their choosing and will remain so. Not everyday is perfect, the conditions are wild and free. We give it our best shot for an incredible interaction to happen for you with either the sea lions or dolphins, or at its very best both these beautiful marine mammals on the one tour. No guarantees are promised, but in saying that, we can guarantee the least that will happen, is, you will see the sea lions up close and personal.
1 review
“Extraordinary experience ”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

As with most who try these sorts of activities yoowe didn't know what to expect. Our young family of 5, with adventurous spirit, have done a few of these types of activities. This was one of the best and in my view rates as highly as any for adults and children. Alan is a typical Aussie who lets the beauty of his surrounds do the talking. It is obvious he loves the fur seals, dolphins and his natural environment. His approach is typically understated, perhaps because it is a wild and unpredictable experience. The experience with dolphins and fur seals is unique. To interact with the creatures in the wild and enjoy their playful nature is unparalleled in the world in my view. The only comparison I have is swimming with hector dolphins in curio bay NZ. I have interacted with trained animals and the experience is double edged because the animals are being exploited. Not in this experience. This is a must for adventurous people and those who want to introduce their kids to the natural world. You will find yourself playing like a child with the fur seals.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P, Owner at Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Thanks for the great review James, we appreciate the fact that you took the time to write, and we are pleased that you had such a good time. We get a lot of enjoyment taking out enthusiastic passengers, and are pleased that you see beyond the fact that it just a tour.
Only one comment from me, and it is in defence of the mammals. We visit an Australian Sea Lion colony, and endangered species, and an exceptionally friendly and social mammal as you experienced. We don't have resident Fur Seals here, probably a good thing as it gives the Sea Lions room to move and get on with increasing their numbers. In my experience the Fur Seals have nowhere near the personality of the Sea Lions, and are nowhere near as interactive.
So, once again, we thank you for visiting us and your review, spread the word for the Australian Sea Lions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    1
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Hard to fault this experience - location, boats, staff, service all excellent. We had an awesome day! We were probably lucky to have the boat to ourselves (just one family of 2 adults and 3 kids), which meant that we could stay for as long or as little as we liked.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_J_Birch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P, Owner at Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience, responded to this review, 6 January 2017
We would like to apologise to everyone who has had a hard time contacting us over this busy period. Due to Telstra's incompetence we have had no phone lines since 26th December, and only 2 days ago have secured one phone line, but we still need to access messages remotely. So to make it easy for all of us, please email for bookings and enquiries,( sealions@bigpond.com ) and if you need to phone us we will access our message bank twice daily, but you MUST leave a phone number for us to get back to you, it is not possible to redial on a message this way. We would also ask that if possible you prepare to pay with cash, as if the phone lines go down again we will have no access to EFTPOS.
On the bright side, we have been having a great time with the Sea Lions and Dolphins, so if you are keen to visit, things will ease up next week as a lot of people return to work, so get in touch and we will endeavour to give you an experience of a lifetime.
Thanks to all of you who have endured the slow replies from us, I hope we have not let too many people down.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience ”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Thank you to Alan and Trish for such an awesome experience. What a great time swimming with the Sealions and the Dolphins. Wild animals in their own habitat, no food enticements to have them come and interact with you. Alan and Trish are beautiful people who run a great business. You leave Baird Bay on such a high. I highly recommend this experience, do it - don't regret.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Braved the cold water to hang out with some ocean dogs (seals)”
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Three off us jumped into the cool waters of Baird Bay over the long weekend to swim with the seals and it was worth the numb feet!
After some fairly crappy weather, we managed to pick the sunniest day of the long weekend and were pretty glad to see our tour wasn't cancelled! After suiting up (we had our own wetsuits but wetsuits are provided if you don't have one) we hopped into the cruiser and headed out to the colony. The ride was smooth and Jack and Alan were friendly and knowledgeable guides. We spent quite a lot of time in the water with about 5 playful seals and even had a big bull swim through! The water was a bit murky, but it was great to see the seals playing in the water and watch them relaxing on land.
Unfortunately we couldn't hop in with the dolphins, but there were there on the opposite side of the bay playing in the waves. A hot milo and some biccies were welcomed as was the sun! We were sad to leave and look forward to returning in 2017!

TIPS- take 2 towels (one for the boat and one to dry off back at the house), if it's windy/chilly, socks/shoes and beanie are recommended.
Also, phone service is not the best at Baird Bay so be patient if you can't contact the team straight away.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank LozBoz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best day ever!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Without exaggeration I can say this was our favourite single day activity on any holiday we have ever done. If you love animals you cannot miss this. It is a world-class experience (although I'm kind of afraid that by raving about it, it might become too popular!). Alan and Patricia are down to earth, great people and they take care of all of their guests. Baird Bay is a real pain to get to, but it is SO worth all the hassle. We can't wait to get back there.

Some tips: Opt for the full wetsuits, not the springsuits. We went in summer and the springsuit people were all shivering after a while and couldn't stay in the water as long. So sad considering you want as much time playing with the sealions as possible!

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank alittlefallofrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience also viewed

South Australia, Australia
Streaky Bay, South Australia
 
Port Lincoln, South Australia
 

Been to Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing