We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST HOLIDAY EVER”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Molle Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adventure Island Resort
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST HOLIDAY EVER”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

DO NOT GO - My partner and I booked to stay for 3 nights and ended up staying for 1 because it was so awful. We were looking forward to sailing around the island in a catamaran and eating delicious seafood in the restaurant. The online advertising lead us to believe it was a resort with resort facilities - but it was a nightmare. The food was disgusting and there was no restaurant. We had to buy food from the 'cafe' which was only open limited hours. The food was not even cafe quality and we couldn't even eat our dinner. We left it uneaten and went hungry. We could not wait to get off the island as we could not stay there and eat that food for 3 days. The rooms were falling apart and the whole resort is like a ghost town - literally falling down. There were no catamarans and when we asked we were told that 'nobody ever asks for them'. We went to the pub which opened at 5pm and the floor was sticky and dirty and obviously hadn't been cleaned and the toilets were also disgusting. The only other people in the bar were the staff. The staff were nice enough but obviously not concerned with people's holiday experiences. They were all young backpackers obviously enjoying themselves. After reading other peoples comments I am appalled that this place is able to get away with continually treating people this way and ripping people off. Most of us have to save hard for our holidays and expect to be able to at least eat the food we pay for. This is so bad for Queensland Tourism and as a Queenslander I am disgusted at this treatment. We ended up staying at Airlie Beach Hotel which was lovely. I only wish we went there first.

Room Tip: Anywhere other than South Molle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    19
    12
    20
    63
See reviews for
3
34
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My partner and I booked for 2 nights here in the garden view room. From the outside the place looks nice but is a very old, run down resort..actually wouldn't even use the word resort. I can say we were upgraded to a beachfront room, thanks to out very lovely just Maria. The room was very poor standard, very dirty, room covered in ants, had a broken bed, nearly broken fridge, and broken kettle. I did ask for milk and a kettle that works, which took 4 hrs to achieve.

Probably the worse thing wad the food. We ate dinner on our first night from a small selection of pub grub. We ordered a chicken schnitzel and chicken burger. Both were appealing and they got the order wrong..I got some kind of meat burger and both meals were half frozen! There was skeleton staff so no one to even to complain to as waitress disappeared for more than 20 mins.

We had booked for 2 nights but chose to leave the island and change our arrangements on the other islands.

However I can say that our host wad more than nice, just a shame she is holding the whole place up on her own

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smcwilly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Molle Island hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I booked in at late notice after checking the website about room types, activities, etc, looking for some peace and quiet. Sometimes you have to be careful what you wish for.
I was one of somewhere between 3 and 5 guests on the Island. The main restaraunt was closed and the cafe was open at limited times with very limited choice of food. One day there were quite a few "day trippers" and the Cafe ran out of a couple of food options.
The day trippers did have that "why did I do this?" look about them
The Bar/Nightclub was only open between 5.30pm and 8.00pm and I was not able to purchase drinks by the Glass, only in a Jug or can/bottle .
The room I had had a great view out over the Bay but the Bathroom was ant infested, including in the kettle. The Golf Course was overgrown and had an unattended look to it as did the Tennis Court.
It also took 6 and a half hours to get from Hamilton Island to South Molle
A beautiful and peaceful place it is, but I cannot recommend it.
I have tried contacting the Resort with feed back but they seem to be uncontactable

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had read the very mixed reviews about Koala Resort on South Molle Island in the Whitsundays and wondered what we might be getting ourselves in for, but it was just fantastic, and we would go back. It is the place to go for a quiet, relaxing holiday amidst beautiful scenery. You can do as much or as little as you want. The island is well known for its great walks (as it is a National Park) and these did not disappoint. The views can be spectacular from the hilltops. There is a lovely swimming pool, nice little golf course (9 holes), tennis courts, and a beach where swimming is better at high tide.

Food is served from the Cafe and you can eat indoors or out. The meals are not expensive and provide a reasonable range. This is not open ALL day, but the hours are clearly advertised around mealtimes.
We stayed at the resort for a whole week which was unusual. Most guests stay for shorter periods but we had no regrets and it made for a very relaxing holiday. Most visitors to the island seem to come for daytrips to explore the island via the walks. There are no roads, no traffic, the primary noise coming from the birds. Ferries come and go on a regular basis and it would be easy to get around other islands from South Molle.
We found the island quiet during the day (which suited us) but in the evenings there were often themed events provided in the bar eg karaoke and other party entertainment, which you could partake in if you wanted to socialise. These events were mainly held to entertain groups of boating tourists hosted by the resort which owned a yacht for chartered day trips. There is a large bar area for evening entertainment, again indoor/outdoor options.
The accommodation was comfortable and perfectly adequate. We stayed in a beachfront bungalow, which is the top of the range. It was clean and had a comfortable bed, sofa, fridge, bathroom with shower over bath, some storage cupboards, and its own deck with table & chairs overlooking the ocean. There was a TV, but reception not good, and who needs a TV anyway when on such a beautiful island.
We really enjoyed this holiday for what it was – a quiet, relaxing, island retreat, with warm, sunny weather and beautiful surroundings. It is true the resort is a shadow of its former self. Less than half the facilities are currently used as the tourist numbers at present don’t justify having the resort fully operational. In some areas it is looking a little tired and in need of maintenance, but the facilities that are used are sufficient. This is not a swept up resort. The other islands on the Whitsundays cater to that market. This is an alternative to the other islands which seem over-developed and over-urbanised. If you want to get away from it all this is the place. The natural environment has largely been left intact.
Internet coverage is poor – don’t rely on keeping ‘connected’.
Last but not least, the staff. They are great and we made many friends. They come from all around the world and all seem to appreciate the natural beauty of their workplace. They were pleasant and helpful and did their best to ensure our stay was a success.
But if you are expecting someone to carry your bags this is not for you!!!

Room Tip: Go for a beach bungalow along waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunedinKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

To be fair, we only paid a visit and didn't stay (thank goodness) but part of the reason for reviewing is so that owners/managers can take our comments on board and do something about them. Hopefully. So here, in a nutshell, are my thoughts:

1. Peaceful and beautiful.
2. Shabby, run-down resort and in dire need of a re-vamp.
3. Great walks with wonderful views.
4. Dirty toilets/showers near the pool.
5. Limited, basic food available in the cafe. A long wait for it to arrive, but I guess the poor girl was doing her best. Wish we'd taken our own lunch and not bought it there.
6. Friendly, helpful receptionist.

But are 1,3 and 6 enough when you have to contend with 2,4 and 5 ??
You have been warned.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molle Island
16.5 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
26.6 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
26.9 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
8.6 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
10.7 km away
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daydream Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Island Resort

Property: Adventure Island Resort
Address: PO Box 147 Airlie Beach Q | Whitsunday's Queensland, 4802, Australia (Formerly Koala Adventure Island)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > South Molle Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Molle Island
Price range (per night): $49 - $280
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventure Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Island Resort on South Molle embodies real island spirit. This eco friendly tropical paradise boasts 30% of the Whitsundays Great Walks, has a rich Indigenous History, is abundant in native flora and fauna, and is encircled by reef. Catering to all ages 18 and over, guests can engage in snorkelling and paddle boarding, bushwalking, relaxing by the resort pool, exploring the 17 secluded island beaches, help feed the wild birds & fish or play a round on the 9 hole golf course.Set in a protected North Facing Bay on South Molle Island the Accommodation is situated right along the white sandy beach and rimmed by Coconut Palms. Adventure Island Resort has 200 rooms, a restaurant, bar and café and conference facilities. Explore, relax, reconnect with nature and meet like minded people at Adventure Island Resort on South Molle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adventure Island Hotel South Molle Island
South Molle Island Hotel
Adventure Island Resort South Molle Island, Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing