We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for families!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I had some reservations after reading other reviews but, this place was perfect. I have travelled a lot and normally don't return but, I will certainly come back to Whitsunday Apartments. Yes, the tiles were a little chipped and outdated but, the location, the views, the roomy living area, the kitchen and the beds were all perfect!! They say towels will only be changed every four days , but often we were asked if we wanted new towels - this applies for the towels in your room and the beach towels. The kitchen is a good size if you want to self cater. We ordered our groceries with Coles online and when we checked in, our groceries were there ready and waiting in our room. We were on the 6th floor and had a beautiful view. Sunrise and sunsets are gorgeous on this island. During our stay, I'm guessing because of school holidays, they had a free jumping castle and face painting down by the pool.
The pool at the apartments is not heated so a bit chilly at this time of the year but, you are able to swim in all of the pools on the island, (well the ones along the beach). The heated pool is at the Reef View Hotel next door. They also do yummy dinners, (duck for entree was beautiful!)
We had a breakfast voucher at the Wildlife Park, which was very cute. Just a nice little stroll down the road and you get a wonderful buffet breakfast sitting amongst a few Koalas and sometimes extra friendly birds!! (Saw one man have a piece of bacon taken from his plate and then soon after little girl lose her sausage to the same Kookaburra, so be careful!!) The park is very small but, they take you on tours to feed the wallabies, you can get a photo cuddling a Koala, its really cute. It's fun to hire a golf buggy and drive around the island and I have to say the highlight for us was taking the helicopter back from Reef World. Absolutely spectacular. I think that if you are on a budget the 10 -15 minute trip over the reef would be well worth it. Beautiful flying over heart reef!!!

Room Tip: Sea views are definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ovens3738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    421
    111
    32
    20
See reviews for
292
520
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here with another 3 groups of friends for my 30th Birthday. The staff were pleasant, the view was spectacular and the best thing was that we had the facilities of the apartment that could allow us to cook meals and have snacks while looking out over the reef. It was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend this place!
While the decor is not as fancy as next door (reef view) it is clean and as I mentioned above you can cook your own meals which saves a bit of $$ so then you can go out on more tours!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were there with a family of four for 5 nights. It was perfect for us. The children slept on the day beds whilst we had a king size bed in the main room. Apartment had everything. Clean, large and comfortable. View was spectacular. A quick walk to Reef View hotel for a meal, drink or breakfast. Pool was great. Would stay here again and have recommended it to family and friends.A great place to stay while in paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I booked a see view apartment. And it is valueable. We have 2nights in this apartment. It is amazing! Great sea view!Great location!
It is conveniant for us to get a shuttle bus and travel around the whole Island.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
The room is cleaness.

Room Tip: it is valueable. Great sea view!Great location! It is conveniant for us to get a shuttle bus and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lily l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The problem with the Whitsundays in general is that you are captive audience with not much choice so be prepared to spend over the odds for everything and nothing is for free (except the beach towel) - I suggest giving up trying to work out the exchange rate otherwise you will choke.

Having been told by Bookings.com that there was no cancellation fee to book here, I duly did and then searched for alternative options just incase - the very helpful people on Hamilton Island found me a cheaper 2 bed apartment but, when we tried to cancel found that there was actually a cancellation fee and we should have "read the small print". So, firstly, beware of Bookings.com and Whitsundays promoting this.

I must say we loved the apartment. Nice big bed, good sized lounge area and bathroom. There was only the two of us though which made it more special - you could sleep 5 comfortably but a little overcrowded so be wary of adding too many to the rooms. The Garden view means you miss out on looking over the ocean which is a lovely view

What I didn't like was, the Wifi - only available in lounge and very slow. The lack of towel change - beach towels could be changed daily, the white towels in the bathroom every 4 days which is not good.

The kitchen was old/outdated and the fridge froze everything. Shame the apartments don't have catering, a bar area. You can get a coffee downstairs between 7.30 and 11 and some random breakfast cereals from reception but it would have been nice to get breakfast there rather than having to either go and buy it (a bus or golf cart trip to the only shop on the island which, ran out of bread regularly - oh and the bakery shuts at 4pm everyday) or get ripped off at the Koala place or the other hotels

So, generally, lovely but not quite perfect

Room Tip: Garden view is lovely but sea view is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
0.4 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
11.3 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
27.6 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 km away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Property: Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price range (per night): $257 - $429
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing