We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lizard Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“consistently exceptional”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

From the minute you arrive, you are pampered. We stayed in an Anchor Bay suite which allows you to almost walk out onto the beach. Fantastic snorkeling is then possible just a few meters from the shore. The are multiple other locations to go snorkeling or scuba diving although we just did snorkeling

Can't say enough about the food. It was superb. The staff are there to make sure you are pampered and no request is too big or small.

Yes, it is expensive but you only live once---you have to experience this at least once in your life

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    74
    12
    19
    9
See reviews for
86
411
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

For our second honeymoon we wanted to go somewhere special - we certainly found it! Lizard Island is just amazing - the location, the beaches, the staff, the wildlife, the food, the snorkelling... I could just go on.

We're not people who would normally spend this kind of money on a holiday but as it was a week without the kids, we wanted to make it count. I did a lot of homework and read the reviews and decided to take a risk with the weather and hope that it would live up to expectations.

The rooms are fabulous, just steps away from the beach. The facilities were great, the restaurant was a pleasure (long, long lunches just admiring the view and enjoying the food). How nice not to have to carry anything around like a wallet, a room key etc. - you just didn't have to think about anything except relaxing and enjoying everything the Island has to offer.

We aren't divers and have never snorkelled before - to be able to just walk into the sea from the beach to snorkel in calm, flat water and see the reef is amazing. We just couldn't get enough and seeing a turtle just made our week. We took a half day trip out to the reef which was also good fun.

The staff are great - very helpful and nothing is too much, you just need to ask. The service was discreet and for 90% of the time we felt like we were the only people on the Island. Going for walks and seeing the Island is a must and all the beaches are just beautiful. I don't think I would ever get bored of looking at the ever changing colours of the Island - everywhere you looked or went was just a delight.

We have quite challenging dietary requirements and the staff tried their best to accommodate this. We even had our own separate menus at dinner which was a nice touch. After a few days of mix-ups Anthony the Chef came out and talked to us about what we like and after that we had great variation in choice and we got to try lots of really fantastic food. They even made up some special vegan biscotti to go with my husband’s sorbet and coffees – nice touch.

BUT

It's always good to remember that this is tropical Queensland and there are a lot of insects and bugs around. For my husband (who is what I can only describe as a mosquito's meal ticket) this meant that he couldn't leave the room without being fully sprayed up with insect repellent. I think this was mainly because of the time of year (March - wet season) but it took a few days for us to realise that he wasn't safe to go anywhere without being covered. So if you travel this time of year, take long sleeves and trousers, suncream with insect repellent in it and bite relief cream. Not that I want to put anyone off - I was only bitten a few times, so my husband does seem to attract them! There are also sand flies on the beach - so my idea of strolling along hand in hand down the beach didn't last very long! I got used to the ants etc. in the room as they stayed out of your way as long as you were sensible with food and drinks and I rather liked having geckos on the walls. :)

The other thing to note is flying to Island. We weren’t concerned by the size of the plane or indeed the terrible weather that we had to fly in but for someone who is a nervous flyer, just be prepared that the planes are very small. The pilots were great considering that it took two attempts to land on the Island due to the wind!

But if you have the money and are looking for an Island getaway with a difference – Lizard Island really should be top of your list.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Anchor Bay suite (room 31) and it's worth paying the extra money for - more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raejmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

As a previous reviewer has said, Lizard Island is truly a 'Died-and-gone-to-heaven' place.
We stayed 5 nights, mid-March for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and would easily say this is the most wonderful Island we have ever visited. We stayed in an Anchor Bay Suite (worth the extra money) which can best be described as a smaller version of a luxury beach house. Minimalist Scandinavian design set it apart from any accommodation we have ever stayed in.
The food served EVERY day for EVERY meal was the equivalent of a five star restaurant anywhere in the world. The unlimited wine, beer, cocktails was first class. An experience in itself. The mini bar in your room was stocked daily with your favorite beer, wine soft drinks etc.
The picnics alone on your own private beach were spectacular. Prawns, salads, cheeses, desserts & champagne/wines all packed in eskys, along with umbrellas & towels ready & waiting for you on your own private runabout boat. The only thing you had to do was drive you boat to the beach of your choosing. Snorkeling just of the beaches was spectacular!
And finally the staff.....by far the most attentive, friendly, knowledgable staff we've ever encountered. EVERY staff member from GM, front desk, bar, restaurant, housekeeping, water sports etc. Nothing was a problem & they went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect.
No mobile phone service was a definate plus. Nice not to hear people chatting on their phones while you are on the Island. Wi-Fi is available if necessary in the Departure Lounge.
Put this Island on your bucket list! It's a must!

Room Tip: Choose the Anchor Bay Suites. Spacious, private, close to resort facilities and spectacular views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxingaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn_Pontynen, General Manager at Lizard Island Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guests "Relaxing Aussies"
Thank you for your valuable feedback to your recent stay. We certainly appreciate it. We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday, and thank you for your compliments.
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lizard shores again in the near future.
Best wishes from all of us on Lizard Island
Robyn and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Island and resort is the perfect place to get away from it all. The snorkelling off the beaches is great and the day trips even better. The staff team couldn't be better. If you have the chance visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeteJeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Beyond the unique rooms & location, the food, wine selection, service, individual attention and quality of staff here were faultless. The dive & water sports team also the best I've experienced - a more mature group than usual with great local knowledge and hosting skills.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AirmileAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lizard Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Island Resort

Property: Lizard Island Resort
Address: Via Cairns, Cook Shire, Lizard Island, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Lizard Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Price range (per night): $1,783 - $2,907
Hotel Class:5 star — Lizard Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Island is truly secluded from the rest of the world. With 24 powdery-white beaches and 40 luxurious suites, it is the most northern resort in tropical Queensland and is located directly on the Great Barrier Reef. A National Park covering 1,013 hectares with 24 sandy beaches and a lagoon, Lizard Island is accessible only by private charter from Cairns Airport in northern Queensland, Australia. Cairns Airport is accessible from all major Australian airports and directly from some cities in Asia. The island is reserved for the fortunate few who will experience an unforgettable holiday like no other. Enjoy secluded picnics and sunset beach degustation on private beaches, five star cuisine in the beautiful Salt Water restaurant and indulgent spa treatments in the Essentia Day Spa. Relax in style in premium accommodation and take in the wonders of Australia's Great Barrier Reef - right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lizard Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Island Hotel Lizard Island
Lizard Island Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing