We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 148
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Expedia.comUSD 148
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
167
100
54
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
167
100
54
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal package garden room great keppel bistro area beachfront cabin beach front keppel island basic accommodation beach holiday natural beauty great spot mainland ferry yeppoon stingrays favour australia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Great Keppel Island is strange. It is beautiful with pristine beaches but there is a large abandoned fenced off ghost resort there. It seems a shame when the Island is so pretty with crystal waters. Anyway we loved the beach but the accommodation was very basic and dated. It is in desperate need of a make over. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our trip as the view from Putney beach is idyllic.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank MAISONINDOCHINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKIHideaway, Public Relations Manager at Great Keppel Island Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we hope you've since returned and seen some of our improvements :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

We decided to visit Great Keppel Island on a recent family trip to Yeppoon,
The island itself is very lovely, very relaxed atmosphere and our kids loved having a turn on the paddleboards we hired.
However our great family trip turned sour when we got to the Hideaway bar and bistro, where the staff were rude, and the menu was lacking and over priced.
To top it all off we spent over $100 being a family of 6, only to have our food burnt and near cold when it was "ready"
Many lovely beaches in Rosalyn that I think we will visit next time instead of paying close to $300 to get here.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dmgarousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKIHideaway, Public Relations Manager at Great Keppel Island Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2020

Hi Daniel,

We are sorry to hear about your experience - we usually receive great feedback on our customer service so this is disappointing. We also now have a discounted ferry service with Keppel Konnections for just $80 return per family - hopefully you've checked this out since :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Great Keppel Island is a very beautiful place to spend the day. We did a day trip and we had a great day Swimming in the beautiful clear waters and snorkelling as well as the glass bottom boat tour. The tour guide was excellent with a lot of knowledge of the area. Our disappointment was that there were near to no facilities for a snack or lunch.
Hideaway Place was the only place you could get food but there was nothing available until 12pm. The menu was taken off us by the lady there as she said she didn't have enough menus to go around. Too bad if we wanted to order anything which we probably wouldn't have as they were charging $20 for a hamburger. Too expensive for a family of 5. My daughter asked if we could get a pie as it was on the menu on the hotbox which was empty but the lady said no she had no pies. If we had known we would have taken a picnic lunch Having travelled extensively around Australia and the world I don't believe you can deliver a boat load of people onto an Island and have no food available. Our lunch consisted of very expensive packet chips. Maybe Freedom Cruises need to warn people taking their tours of the lack of amenities on the Island. Make sure you take shade and food if you are planning to go and also insect repellent and you will have a great day.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKIHideaway, Public Relations Manager at Great Keppel Island Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2020

Thank you for your review Valerie!
Hope to welcome you back again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

We were a young family of 4 and Sailed on Kepel Dreams with Skipper Terry what a fantastic afternoon the kids got to sail the boat which was a highlight also spent the day jumping off the yacht and snorkling around the reef . Would highly recommend GKI adventures

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank justythommo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKIHideaway, Public Relations Manager at Great Keppel Island Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2020

Thank you for your review!
Hope to welcome you back again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We did a day trip from Roslyn Harbour to the Island using Freedom Cruises (separate review). The Island is unbelievable in its beauty. The resort closed down 9 years ago and it is a real shame as the buildings still sit unused, but the island itself has a natural beauty that can not be denied. The guy running the beach activities was very helpful and really enthusiastic and the prices are reasonable. We hired a catamaran and the boys had a wonderful time. All the kids also got snorkels for the whole day and friends went on the jet ski tour - they said it was really worth the fee and a really wonderful experience. 'He' made it interesting with local knowledge, safe and fun too. We bought food at the hideaway place and it was really disappointing. They had run out of 6 of the items on the menu so our only option was chips, wedges and chicken nuggets - friends of ours that went with us said last time there was a full buffet so we're not sure what happened on this day! The view from the eating area is unbelievable.
Overall, the facilities on the island are not great, but it is an island and the view and the beauty of the place well and truly make up for it. Take some type of shade and sunn protection - maybe some snacks too and you will have an awesome day!

Room tip: We didn't use a room, we just used the island itself.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 592MoniqueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKIHideaway, Public Relations Manager at Great Keppel Island Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2020

Thank you for your review!
Hope to welcome you back again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews