We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,237)
Filter reviews
6,237 results
Traveller rating
2,039
2,479
1,071
438
210
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,039
2,479
1,071
438
210
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beauty spots tour sand bar maheno restaurant jetty hut bush tucker watching the sunset lake mckenzie cheese platter river heads beautiful island wheel drive day tour natural beauty hotel room buffet breakfast family holiday general store
Filter
Updating list...
935 - 940 of 6,237 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Our package was for 2 nights and 3 days, including one full day doing the Beauty Spots Tour.
The Beauty Spots tour was up there with most other day tours we have done around the World. If you are in the mature age group or have leg and or back issues, getting into and off the bus can be a problem. The bus steps are very steep (high), but the bus and ride is very comfortable.
Accommodation and restaurants were excellent. We did not use the pool (no time) but it was very inviting.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J30BEianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Service by restaurant staff very poor. Check in and check out was fine. Rooms had a number of cobwebs between the ceiling and walls. Ferry experience was fine.
Fraser is amazing though so get out and explore

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jesshajdu1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherMgr, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Jess,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you were able to get out and explore all the island has to offer.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that the service and room was not to standard.We are utmost committed to providing a high quality of service and we have ensured your feedback has been passed onto our Food and Beverage manager and Executive housekeeper.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

The Accor Kingfisher Bay Resort is a Good place to visit but don’t expect too much. Like all Accor properties they are well run, the people friendly (had a wonderful staff member Rachel (from New Zealand) look after us) but it’s very expensive so don’t do this on a budget. The room was very nice, but it’s very mouldy smelling, and little things are missing like a copy of the local TV guide etc. We went on a guided Bush tucker walk which is a must do but beware of the drop bears.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

OMG!!! Where do I start? I was on the verge of tears by the end of the trip and just wanted off "survivor" Island

I do want to say first up that Alyssa was great and helped ease the complete disappointment of the whole experience. Most of the staff are friendly but a good portion of them have no idea about the resort, facilities and operations to help your just be a user friendly one.

2 families, travelling together to Kingfisher with 2 babies (2yr old and 9month old)

Total cost for 3 nights (1 adult, 1 child) = $1000 plus

Be prepared to be held at ransom if you want to eat, drink and venture further than 200m of the resort. The prices are exorbitant for anything!! If you don't have breakfast included in your package (yes this was an oversight of mine), be prepared to pay $27 for an ordinary buffet (no omelette maker here..... thanks for spoiling me SE Asia). There is no toaster in your room, so if you only eat cereal and have had the foresight to pack milk and cereal you'll manage to escape the greedy clutches of the resort (oh and remember to pack a bowl and extra plates then too).

The food is very ordinary, for the price you pay you'd expect restaurant quality (not a pub meal, but even then you get chips!!! And not at $10 a bowl). $41 for a steak, $11.90 for a kids meal (pizza the size of a saucer), $21.90 for an adult size pizza (normal size).

So, yes the food was basic and didn't excite the tastebuds but hey, your on an island and its about relaxing, right? Well, first night I would make sure your booked into somewhere otherwise relaxing with a meal won't come easy. You will be told (with 2 babies) that you can't be seated until 745pm. For some this might be ok, but for a family who have just endured a ferry ride, unhelpful reception and to battle stairs with a pram (thanks to the directions given by staff), this was not an option. So we then trekked off to the Sandbar along the lit board walk that provided not a lot of visibility for (snakes, drop offs etc). Got there and then ordered, waited and ate quite late to then have to trek back to our rooms, having to share the road with vehicles because the only way to get to our rooms with a pram was to take this route.

The resort design is like camping but with a TV and a shower (can't say flushing toilet as it had to be encouraged to flush multiple times for it to work and no I didn't report this to reception as we had bigger issues). There are no block out curtains so be prepared for early morning wake ups. Instead your room is decorated with japanese style opaque doors. Parts of the resort will see drop offs and if your toddler isn't watching will end up in the foliage due to no contained railings or even the pram if you miscalculate a turn.

At the pool you are required to get your towels from reception (I'd recommend doing this as you pass them on your way down to the pool, otherwise you'll get down there to only have to scale the 4 floors back up to reception to get your towels).

Asked the staff at reception about change tables, they said there were none and that we were more than welcome to change our babies on the sun chairs??? (Preferably not, privacy I like for my child and if there's poo to deal with it makes it even harder.... again with the camping factor). Venture to the village store where you can expect to pay three times the price for goods. Here I seen there were toilets up there and surprise!! There's a change table up there, not handy for swimming but at least to know theres an option after coming home from a 4wd adventure.

It's a pretty Island but for the money spent, throw in an extra $300 and head to Bali for a week. I'm embarrassed to have this resort as the tourist destination on my doorstep as friends and family are keen to experience it. Now I know, I will be advising them to stay in hervey bay and book a day trip to the island's places of interest. Very very disappointed and I felt like it was commercial means of theft. Never Never again!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank Adventuressfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherMgr, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Fiona,
Thank you for taking the time to post another review.
Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding your experience and be assured we appreciate all of your feedback and have passed this onto all of the relevant departments.
We have identified a miscommunication between yourself and the reception staff and again would like to apologise for this inconvenience. The staff were under the impression that you were requesting a change table in your room and unfortunately these are not available. Change tables are located for guest convenience in the restrooms opposite reception and also restrooms at the Village Store.
We would also like to acknowledge the wing in which you stayed in does have some stairs, however note you were offered an alternative room in the A wing which does not have stairs, however declined this offer. All of the walkways are also accessible via ramps.
We are continually looking for ways that we can enhance guest experiences and we appreciate your constructive feedback and apologise again for any confusion.
We can ensure that all of your comments have also been passed onto our General Manager. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to discuss further.
Thank you again and all the best for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Kingfisher Resort is a perfect place to get away from the frantic pace of the mainland. It was so quiet it was almost like we were the only people staying there. The staff were absolutely lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and they were so friendly and welcoming. The natural beauty and peace of the island is truly stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherMgr, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear John,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.

We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all the Kingfisher Bay Resort and the beautiful Fraser Island have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews