We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,237)
Filter reviews
6,237 results
Traveller rating
2,039
2,479
1,071
438
210
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,039
2,479
1,071
438
210
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beauty spots tour sand bar maheno restaurant jetty hut bush tucker watching the sunset lake mckenzie cheese platter river heads beautiful island wheel drive day tour natural beauty hotel room buffet breakfast family holiday general store
Filter
Updating list...
980 - 985 of 6,237 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We recently spent 3 nights at Kingfisher Resort and thought it was not great but pleasant for a short stay. The resort in my opinion is a 3 star with facilities looking a little tired. Young staff were adequate but lacked hospitality training and it showed in the lack of professionalism. Just nice kids doing an average job. All tours were outrageously overpriced as I suppose you would expect on an island with very little competition. If you didn't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money on tours the only things to keep you occupied was to swim in the average pools or bushwalk. Where we did enjoy both of these things boredom set in quickly. I believe they would benefit greatly from the addition to a games or events co-ordinator on the staff. Someone to organise some trivia or music games or even volleyball comp to occupy guests. The wine selection was poor, I understand this as the prices they were asking for the quality the turnover would be small. Overall it was not a bad experience but not good enough for a return visit. Definitely better value joining a day tour from the mainland or hiring your own 4WD.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ljsunshinecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Kingfisher Resort is wonderful - just don't stay in the villas as they are privately owned and the one we stayed in was not maintained. We had to make do with a broken shower and no lock on the bathroom door for 4 adults. The pool and the ranger activities are great. We loved the Aussie food tasting. It was well done and informative. The staff were great - the food a bit pricey and the local shop very pricey. Be sure to take your own wine, though you can't drink it by the pool. In all a good experience but glad we had access to cooking facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marrionm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We have traveled to Fraser Island and Kingfisher Bay Resort many times, and this visit was great. The resort is looking great and a real effort is being made to continue to improve the resort and its activities and offerings. The Maheno restaurant is offering a good assortment of food offering, reasonably priced and tasty. The onsite shop has improved its food and accessories offering, still not fantastic, you can put together your meals with ease for a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

third visit to Kingfisher booked through Luxury escapes very good value for money,lovely area.If you go join Le Club this gives you discounts on meals and is free to join.See if you can get b block rather than A and odd number on second floor much better views.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daviddV3179SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this resort, the staff were young, friendly and approachable, the room was spacious and clean, the food was good, especially breakfast being an 'all you can eat'... The guided canoe tour was great and very educational... We were amazed at the abundance of fish in the water we could see from the jetty... Definitely worth another visit to stay longer...

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews