We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very relaxing week away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

a very unassuming hotel amongst the natural bush by the sea.
Very clean and well maintained.

Plenty to do and not to do. A great pool and plenty of bush walks.
The day spa was amazing.

Highly recommend doing the beauty spots tour and whale watching(if in season)

The maheno restaurant was great value.

Watch out for the different happy hours at their various bars. It could save you a small fortune.

Room Tip: we upgraded to. Lagoon room. It was more like dry a swamp. Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 598 of 5,668 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Fraser is amazingly beautiful. Everyone should experience it! We stayed in a villa at kingfisher bay resort. It was gorgeous. So much nature around. It was a little outdated but who cares! The food is incredibly expensive. I recommend taking a lot of your own. The restaurants have minimal food for vegetarians let alone vegans. I lived on hot chips and vego pizzas with no cheese the whole time I was there :( cheap cocktails at the sand bar are awesome! All in all it really is a beautiful resort with all the amenities you need for a great family holiday.
I wish we had more time to explore the island. It is absolutely magnificent!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amybP1885ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

After 20 years of work, family and life commitments, this was a break we needed.
Without a doubt we will be back to enjoy the lay backed pace where you can choose what and when to do an activity.
We met many wonderful people and staff. Made some new friends and laughed like we hadn't in a long time. Big tubs up.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Kingfisher Bay for three nights, in one of the 2 bed villas. The size was big enough for my family of four and accommodated to our needs. As our intent was to explore the island, minimum time was spent in the villa.
First impressions of the resort was a place stuck in time. Yes it is beautifully blended into the surrounds but the decor was dated and tired. The villa we stayed in was very much the same - dark and dreary. Considering the costs, I expected more.
It was quite evident that the villa was not clean either. Easily noticeable when your daughter crawls and her hands and knees are black from the dirty floor.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and responsive if you do have any issues. As we encountered after receiving our room key, to find that our villa was still occupied by current visitors! Nothing was a problem and the matter was addressed immediately with minimal fuss.
All this being said, we did not visit the island to relax in the villa. It was about exploring this beautiful treasure, and for that, it was epic! As a base to explore, it worked for us and gave us flexibility with two young children. I give it three stars purely for the above mentioned reasons.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Barnsey_107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Unfortunately it was not the best experience. Our room was very dirty and made the whole experience uncomfortable. I would not go back again to pay $400 per night to stay in unkept rooms. We were having a family trip that we were excited for and were let down.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nataliet244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
16.2 km away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
958 reviews
16.4 km away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
2,301 reviews
18 km away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 24 in Hervey Bay
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
16.6 km away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#8 of 24 in Hervey Bay
613 reviews
18.2 km away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#3 of 4 in Fraser Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range: AU$162 - AU$291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing