We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
2 Days Fraser Island

This was a great trip with a small group of 6 people. Our guide Rhett made the trip perfect. He... read more

Reviewed 21 January 2024
Peti_bet
via mobile
Loved the trip

Our guide Rhett was very knowledgeable and friendly! We loved the trip and would definitely... read more

Reviewed 14 December 2023
Kate R
Read all 783 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around K'gari (Fraser Island)
from AU$273.00
More Info
from AU$699.00
More Info
from AU$519.00
More Info
from AU$569.00
More Info
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveller rating
555
80
31
26
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
555
80
31
26
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moreton island day trip guide jeff days camping sand boarding rainbow beach great tour small group lake mckenzie fraser island trip one night an adventure an amazing trip jai campsite knowledge itinerary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

The tour offered a great off-road opportunity to explore the beautiful scenery offered by Moreton island. We booked as a family and the staff catered to all our needs from money issues to the different activities offered with utmost respect. The four wheel drive ride to the sand dunes was definitely one of our most enjoyed experiences. Despite having unexpected weather interruptions, the ride was definitely a journey! The sand dunes and water were also beautiful. Will be coming again if we stop by !!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank victoriangguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

I'm glad you enjoyed your day on Moreton Island with us.
It is a LOVELY place that a lot of people are unaware of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

When we saw a storm was coming about 7 days before we tried to cancel or change the date but thy wouldn't budge. So long story short we spent 3 days absolutely soaked and cold and was a waste of money for a family of 4! We also missed out on quite a bit as well. Very rude and unhelpful. Never got an apology or a refund. I wouldn't recommend.
Very uncomfortable

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

I honestly have no idea what storm this complaint is about!
The last '3 day storm' we had was in February - and we cancelled ALL trips over the course of six days due to the bad weather, terrible beach conditions and excessively high tides.
There have been tours since where we have had rain, but nothing torrential or consistent.

In any case, I am sorry you found the trip a 'waste of money'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

DO NOT BOOK as excursion from cruise ship.To be fair it does say "toyota troop carrier":, we didn't think bench seats, so we sat knees intertwined, with two ppl in the front seat meant for one. Manageable with difficulty. Step up> over 2 ft - extremely difficult to manage. Off cruise ship: demographics: seniors. Several of our group opted not to get out due to knee issues. With a smaller step stool, there would have been no issue. Driver guide, spoke to ppl in front and windshield; A/C not working - window open in front only. We had more info from description, and that seemed to be creatively written. Told we SHOULD be back in time to get ship. SHOULD mentioned several times. We truncated the tour to make an earlier ferry... thankfully. Water / soda provided with picnic lunch.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank atravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your day on North Stradbroke.
We picked you up from the cruise terminal at an agreed time, which you were late for.
We had arranged the return ferry and allocated enough time to get you back to the cruise terminal for boarding.

Our guides use the word SHOULD as we are working on islands, driving on sand and have to compensate occasionally for late ferry services, road/track blockages, mechanical faults etc.
As mentioned, the itinerary was arranged to work to your requirements.
My guide stated you weren't convinced and requested an earlier return from the island. It was NOT mandated by the guide to make the change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2019

I was one of 6 visitors fortunate to have an awesome driver and guide on our 3-day, 2-night trip to Fraser Island. Maneuvering a fully-loaded Toyota Land Cruiser through deep sand on rutted tracks, or open beach, she carefully employed the vehicle's momentum to avoid getting stuck, minimizing the bumps where possible, and warning her passengers when the humps were unavoidable. Her commentary addressed not only precise details of the Island's natural features, but also stories of the aboriginal culture that she received permission to relay, such as a site where the land's traditional owners named their baby daughters.

I particularly valued our stop at Eli Creek, a fast flowing knee-deep fresh water creek. Riding a small float on the half-kilometer downstream run was an amazing rainforest tour, gliding past giant trees intermixed with palms. The next swimming spot, Champagne Pools (see photo), combined sparking water, waves breaking over the rocks, and small fish in the shallow water.

Rooms and the night walk in the Kingfisher Bay Lodge were excellent.

Sunrover has varied vehicles and seating arrangements. As a solo traveler, I was fortunate to be assigned the front seat, which was front facing. Some passengers in the 8 side-facing seats of a "troop carrier" or 2 seats the Land Cruiser's child-size third row found hour-long rides in these positions uncomfortable. I would recommend confirming the arrangements when booking.

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

Just finished an awesome 5 day tour with Mick as our trusty guide. His wealth of knowledge and love of the island really shines through. On the 5 day tour we were able to make it to see more than just the top trafficked sites like Sandy Cape Lighthouse - which most people don’t get to. Sunrover are the only tour company with permits to get you there! We stayed at Eurong Resort which catered our breakfast & dinner each day, lunches on the go were wraps & fruit- always enough. I would definitely recommend Sunrover. Small group tours rather than the hoards bustling on & off the big busses or the ‘very young’ backpacker type tagalong tours suited us with our teenage kids. Great experience had by all. Thanks Mick.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank MegieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2019

Thank You very much for posting.
I'm happy you enjoyed the tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews