We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Island! All in all a good trip (2D/1N)

Fraser Island is incredible and definitely worth a visit! We were lucky and got one of the more... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
JuliaBe99
via mobile
Meghan is a great asset to Sunset Tours

We had such a great time with Meghan as our tour guide for the 2 day fraiser island tour with her... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
JessieV142
via mobile
Read all 566 reviews
  
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
378
71
26
20
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
71
26
20
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moreton island day trip camping tour blue lagoon guide jeff sand boarding days camping honeymoon bay went above and beyond camp fire beach walk small group great tour interesting things excellent driver great knowledge lake mackenzie
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Fraser is very unique and wild, definitely a place to see! Our tour was basic (the car is quite old, the Eurong resort is very basic and quite pricely for what it is) but our guide Dave was very nice, reliable and he drives very safely. Next time the management should supply the participants with more water bottles. We had very few and not enough for all of us.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Pina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

After paying for a 3 day camping tour and being advised less than 48 hours before commencement that the trip was unlikely to go ahead due to insufficient numbers, then finally being put in with another group for an abridged 2 day tour ( with a minimum refund difference and an extra night's hotel accommodation at our expense) we set off with a driver who made no attempt to introduce himself or others in group and who indeed, hardly spoke ( & then gruffly) unless asked something. The 4wd was packed & very uncomfortable and the camping very basic. All of that would have been ok if not for a guide driver that seemed fairly disinterested in conversation or friendly group dynamics. When people started to express their discontent ( with inferior accommodation when the better resort had been paid for or for a slight change to program), he reacted defensively and angrily snapping at them and walking away to smoke in a huff. Indeed 2 people left tour early with us and other 6( all overseas guests) were unhappy . They felt cheated. Food was as basic as possible, plain label white bread, frozen fish fillets and one salad. The guide made no attempt to ameliorate guests concerns, explain things in clear uncolloquial language or just be friendly. He didn't eat with us and indeed left our group to our own devices while he camped on beach !( Duty of care?) All in all, no one in our group of 10 felt the tour met their expectations. Would not recommend this company, unfortunately. A lost opportunity by Sunrover to impress overseas visitors with this beautiful part of Australia.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Sandie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Sandie,
I am very sorry your tour did not meet expectations.
As you are aware, facilities on Fraser Island are limited. Things have to be kept basic to work effectively.
I don't know about inferior accommodation!!
Guests stayed at Eurong Beach Resort - BOTH in twin share hotel rooms.
The Resort has pools, tennis courts, bar & restaurant as well as bakery & store.
BOTH also had their evening meals paid for by our company at a cost of $200.00.
The dinner for your first night should have been a BBQ with sausages, burgers salads & garlic breads.
I will speak with the guide in question regarding that, and the rest of the issues you bring up here.

Please accept my apology and a promise that we will do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We arrived in time for the car to leave at 6:45am as instructed however the guide was unorganised which caused us to leave around an hour later. Our guide did not have enough documents for everyone to sign and was very confused on the number of people that had turned up. The car held 9 people plus the driver but there were 10 of us plus the driver. The car was in appalling condition - padding had worn away on the seats and spilling out as they were ripped and trust me - sufficient padding is ESSENTIAL for a trip like this (we all returned with bad backs and bruised tailbones). We had a 4 hour trip from Brisbane which was not pleasant in the uncomfortable vehicle.
As the guide was late getting going it meant we started our adventure at around 2:15pm which meant we had to miss a couple things off the intinerary including Lake Boomanjin & Lake Benaroon. We arrived at Lake Mackenzie at around 3:15 which meant it was already getting dark and cold, none of the group was impressed by the timing at all as the lake was absolutely beautiful and would have been great to swim in.
The tents at the accomodation were awful, some were collapsing and all were covered in sand inside or full of bugs therefore we decided to upgrade to a cabin for $30 extra (definitely recommend!).
We were promised a camp fire however the guide did not bring any firewood with him and there were only 2 logs at the site which were left from the previous group! We also were not provided with marshmallows.

The guide, David, was a lovely man however he did not have any sort of plan in place, was very unorganized and was unable to read the group in order to make the most of our trip.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Tuesdi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank You for your response.
The vehicles used on our tours are done so as they are best suited to the conditions on the island. Every one of our fleet are roadworthy and registered. All are maintained and inspected regularly.
I also have Dave's report on this tour.
Although he was indeed late departing from Brisbane, by the time you had made it to Noosa you were only 15 minutes behind schedule.
You were at Lake McKenzie at 3:30pm and left just before 5pm. Indeed, the photos Dave sent me from Lake McKenzie look BEAUTIFUL, with cloudless blue sky & sunshine. It doesn't get dark in September until around 6:00pm.
Our tents are set up on a permanent basis, and are constantly maintained. The two tents that were down have since been removed and replaced as per company practice.

Dave was up at 4:30am the following morning, took some guests to the beach for sunrise before heading back to camp for pancakes, cereal, toast etc. for breakfast.
He also took you to Eli Creek, Maheno Shipwreck and Lake Wabby.
Dave stopped for lunch at Rainbow Beach before making his way back to Brisbane arriving at the CBD at approximately 7:30pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We did the 3 day camping tour to Fraser Island. Fraser Island itself is just fabulous and made it all worthwhile and driver/guide Dave was excellent under less than ideal circumstances. Firstly, Dave had been given incorrect pickup information for one of our travellers and had to back track to collect her. This cost us an hour. Then before we even got to Fraser Island our vehicle, an old troop carrier, broke down. It took 4 hours to get fixed all of which meant we pretty much wasted the first day. This vehicle should not be used - it is an old, worn out heap of rubbish. Then they had 10 of us plus the driver crammed into the troopie. This is one too many. 9 would be bearable, 10 was not and is just greed on Sunrover's part. The campsite Sunrover uses is good but could be much better. It needs cleaning, upgrading and organising. The food was adequate but lacking in variety and imagination. As I say, Fraser Island made it all worthwhile and Dave had us up and going very early to catch up on what we missed the first day so we did mostly see and do everything we were meant to, but I reckon Sunrover management need to change their approach or they will lose customers.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jules4910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We booked it as 3 couples. Got picked up close to our hotel in Brisbane in a Toyota Land Rover. It was a Little crowded but we managed to fir in with our luggage. Our driver/tour guide for the 3 days was Jeff. He is a former resident of the island. I can not say enough good things about him. While a little rough around the edges he was amazing. The driving experience on the beach and on the sand in land roads was something we have all never experienced. We saw many people getting stuck including other tour guides but we never had any problems. He offered I depth and humorous commentary through out the entire trip. He stopped at very interesting sights and places to eat. We were originally supposed to stay at the Kingfisher resort but got bumped to the The rooms were pretty basic but comfortable enough. The only problem we had is they ran out of room heaters but with the extra blankets the room was warm enough. The buffet meals were simple but good. We saw Dingo's, whales, dolphins, manta rays, lots of different birds etc. the swim in Lake Mackenzie and the champagne pools was great and Eli stream was fun to float down. Initially we thought this was a little pricy but considering it included everything for 3 days it was well worth it. I would highly recommend Jeff if you can get him as he really made the trip for us!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Roland I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews