We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
2 Days Fraser Island

This was a great trip with a small group of 6 people. Our guide Rhett made the trip perfect. He... read more

Reviewed 21 January 2024
Peti_bet
via mobile
Loved the trip

Our guide Rhett was very knowledgeable and friendly! We loved the trip and would definitely... read more

Reviewed 14 December 2023
Kate R
Read all 781 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around K'gari (Fraser Island)
from AU$273.00
More Info
from AU$699.00
More Info
from AU$459.00
More Info
from AU$499.00
More Info
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveller rating
555
80
31
26
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
555
80
31
26
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moreton island day trip guide jeff days camping sand boarding rainbow beach great tour small group lake mckenzie fraser island trip one night an adventure an amazing trip jai campsite knowledge itinerary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 781 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Our guide, Phil, was very easy-going and knew his stuff. He was also a very experienced and competent driver which is what you need on Fraser. Our accommodation got upgraded from camping to the resort which was probably just as well as it was a rainy tour. Accommodation was good.

It is unfortunate that they use the Toyota Trooper vehicles for the tours for a few reasons. Firstly, unless you get to nab one of the two seats up front (which is a mini bench seat with very limited space) with the driver, you are in the back, facing other people with limited leg space. Secondly, the view is very restricted because of advertising covering the outside of the windows and the windows are opened only to a limited amount so one is constantly bending forward uncomfortably to see the front view or leaning left and right hoping to cop a view through the side windows. On top of that, you are only strapped in with a lap belt and there isn't much padding on the seats and you really feel the bumps when driving through the rough terrain. I have been 4WDing before in forward facing seats and it's hard enough trying to keep your centre of gravity in that seating style so you can imagine how much you are trying to keep your balance AND trying to enjoy the sights at the same time. If you have back issues-as I do- I would opt for the front seat as much as possible (although it's polite to share it with the other 9 passengers so you won't have access the whole trip). The upside of the current seating arrangements is that you get to make new friends quickly is that is all you are looking at most of the time LOL
Overall, the tour was very well organised, it's just the car that was uncomfortable. Be prepared to sit in it for up to 7 hours on a 10 hour day trip...

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Jules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Julie,
We use the Toyota 4WD Landcruisers as they are simply the best vehicle for the job!
It is a long drive to & from Fraser from Brisbane, and we do stop along the way to help alleviate that.

Thank You for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Had the best time with sunrover tours! Megan was an ABSOLUTE legend! So much fun and knows her stuff when it comes to Fraser Island(originally known as k’gari island) highly recommend looking her and sunrover tours up! Thanks megs!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

I went on the 2 day tour and I was so greatful that we had Megan as our tour guide. She knew so much about the land and was so passionate and caring for the land. It made me want to see more so I wish I stayed for an extra night. I definitely recommend going with Sunrover tours!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks for sharing your thoughts Carly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

This tour is made for anyone wanting a real taste of the Australian outdoors.
Don’t expect an air conditioned bus, but do expect plenty of adventure, an exhilarating drive along the beach with stunning views and great company.

One thing you won’t be is bored! Get ready to visit all of the major attractions, backed up with fabulous commentary from your extremely informative tour guide.

Lots of yours out there, but this was by far the best. And if you’re lucky enough to get Megs as your guide, you’ll leave K’gari feeling as though it’s your second home!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank stephanieisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank You for the kind words.
I can tell you that Meaghan is blushing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We did the 2 day one night tour and it was awesome! I️ would of liked to stay longer to see more but in the time that we had there I think we did all that you can do. Meghan knew so much information about Fraser, and I really enjoyed all of her fun facts. She really cared about us and wanted us to have the best trip. Really glad that we were part of Meghan’s tour, choose her as a tour guide if you can!! Bring some snacks/extra food though as their breakfast and lunch are good but a bit minimal.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews