We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute. ”
Review of Sunrover Tours

Sunrover Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With nearly 30 years experience, let Sunrover cater a tour to meet your needs. From camping to 5 star accommodation, day tours to 5 day adventures we have a tour to suit every taste & budget.
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Just completed the 2day 1night tour of Fraser Island. It has been an incredible time, and our guide, Jai, has an amazing amount of knowledge and passion for his job, which constantly shines through. There was no time pressures on the island and we were able to stay at particular points longer if we wanted, or stop to take photos. The atmosphere was amazing, as we had only 8 people, rather than a huge coach, and the staff do everything possible to make your time more enjoyable. Couldn't have had a better time.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank lmoran1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Glad you enjoyed the tour!
Thank You for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"moreton island"
in 85 reviews
"day trip"
in 70 reviews
"camping tour"
in 34 reviews
"blue lagoon"
in 17 reviews
"guide jeff"
in 6 reviews
"sand boarding"
in 25 reviews
"days camping"
in 11 reviews
"went above and beyond"
in 6 reviews
"camp fire"
in 10 reviews
"beach walk"
in 6 reviews
"small group"
in 21 reviews
"camping facilities"
in 6 reviews
"great tour"
in 28 reviews
"interesting things"
in 8 reviews
"excellent driver"
in 7 reviews
"lake mackenzie"
in 20 reviews
"great knowledge"
in 6 reviews
Filter

76 - 80 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2018

Our guide, Phil, was very easy-going and knew his stuff. He was also a very experienced and competent driver which is what you need on Fraser. Our accommodation got upgraded from camping to the resort which was probably just as well as it was a rainy tour. Accommodation was good.

It is unfortunate that they use the Toyota Trooper vehicles for the tours for a few reasons. Firstly, unless you get to nab one of the two seats up front (which is a mini bench seat with very limited space) with the driver, you are in the back, facing other people with limited leg space. Secondly, the view is very restricted because of advertising covering the outside of the windows and the windows are opened only to a limited amount so one is constantly bending forward uncomfortably to see the front view or leaning left and right hoping to cop a view through the side windows. On top of that, you are only strapped in with a lap belt and there isn't much padding on the seats and you really feel the bumps when driving through the rough terrain. I have been 4WDing before in forward facing seats and it's hard enough trying to keep your centre of gravity in that seating style so you can imagine how much you are trying to keep your balance AND trying to enjoy the sights at the same time. If you have back issues-as I do- I would opt for the front seat as much as possible (although it's polite to share it with the other 9 passengers so you won't have access the whole trip). The upside of the current seating arrangements is that you get to make new friends quickly is that is all you are looking at most of the time LOL
Overall, the tour was very well organised, it's just the car that was uncomfortable. Be prepared to sit in it for up to 7 hours on a 10 hour day trip...

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Tripper272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Julie,
We use the Toyota 4WD Landcruisers as they are simply the best vehicle for the job!
It is a long drive to & from Fraser from Brisbane, and we do stop along the way to help alleviate that.

Thank You for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Had the best time with sunrover tours! Megan was an ABSOLUTE legend! So much fun and knows her stuff when it comes to Fraser Island(originally known as k’gari island) highly recommend looking her and sunrover tours up! Thanks megs!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

I went on the 2 day tour and I was so greatful that we had Megan as our tour guide. She knew so much about the land and was so passionate and caring for the land. It made me want to see more so I wish I stayed for an extra night. I definitely recommend going with Sunrover tours!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks for sharing your thoughts Carly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

This tour is made for anyone wanting a real taste of the Australian outdoors.
Don’t expect an air conditioned bus, but do expect plenty of adventure, an exhilarating drive along the beach with stunning views and great company.

One thing you won’t be is bored! Get ready to visit all of the major attractions, backed up with fabulous commentary from your extremely informative tour guide.

Lots of yours out there, but this was by far the best. And if you’re lucky enough to get Megs as your guide, you’ll leave K’gari feeling as though it’s your second home!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Front Office Manager at Sunrover Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank You for the kind words.
I can tell you that Meaghan is blushing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunrover Tours also viewed

 
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Sunrover Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing