We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
140
62
31
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
62
31
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roompool and bar areabeautiful hostelmagnetic islandsun loungersprivate bathroomcalamariking roomcar parkbeautiful poolcommon areasrecommend staying herethe east coaststayed here for two nightsrooms were very cleanbackpackersdorm
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Did not know what to expect when I stayed here but I was amazed it cost $25.50 for a night here! The pool is great, restaurant serves delicious food and cocktails! Linen and a towel provided on arrival. Absolute luxury!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Helie1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Helie1992,

Again thank you for your fantastic review.

Here at Rambutan, we pride ourselves on our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Hanson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Loved this hostel. It has a nice pool with shaded sofa areas to relax. Rooms are clean, beds comfy. Bathroom clean and modern.
Receptionists are very welcoming and friendly. Laundry room has a number of machines so faster.
Great location as very central to restaurants, bars and shops.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank graceryan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear graceryan21,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic review with the wider Trip Advisor community.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the service and facilities here at Rambutan.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Hanson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Rambutan Hostel is a great place to stay. Very upmarket Hostel which is great for young and old alike.
Good food at both the bar and Cafe attached to the Hostel. Great location, walking distance to the ferry for Magnetic Island and close to other attractions.
Lovely pool area, bar with friendly helpful staff and nice rooms.
We stayed in a Villa on the weekend with two other couples and it was very comfortable.
We had a night before the villa in a King Room which was also nice.
I would recommend trying it but there were a couple of negatives.
Firstly I didn’t appreciate having to run the gauntlet through the smokers area which was on the path to the 4 Villas.
Should be relocated.
We paid for a King room the first night and were given a Queen.
Which brings me to my biggest negative. The check in staff.
Not the least bit interested about my King Room issue.
Also completely inflexible with our room change from the “ King” room Thursday night to the villa Friday night with the other two couples. The Villa was vacant but they did not want us to move our bags across til 2pm. Ridiculous and inefficient. We tried several times to sort it out and were eventually allowed to move our bags at 12:30. Would have been happy to speak to management but were not offered it, nor did they refer it to management. While it is a Hostel, it is luxurious for one and attracts older travellers that expect better customer service. Happy to talk to someone about this.
Overall though, a fantastic place to stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Leesa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Leesa F,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with Rambutan Townsville.

I have to agree, we have a fabulous facility and pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service.

In regards to the concerns you have with our reception staff, can you please email me your contact details at manager@rambutantownsville.com and I will contact you to discuss.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Chris Hanson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We had an awesome stay at Rambutan YHA!
It seems like a hotel and from almost all the facilities it felt like that. It is the most luxurious hostel I’ve ever been.

One thing which has to be improved is the kitchen. There is a little bit to less cutlery and plates but everything else is really good.

All in all it is an awesome hostel, where you feel comfortable and luxurious. I can recommend it to everybody who travels through the world!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank timbueltena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear timbueltena,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Rambutan Townsville.

We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and facilities.

Your comments in regards to the communal kitchen have been passed onto to the housekeeping team to be addressed immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Hanson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hostel with comfy beds, air conditioning, clean bathrooms, pool and bar. Such a nice place to stay and one of the best we have stayed in all the way up the east coast! Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Townsville!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hi Hannah T,

Thank you for providing such a wonderful review of our property. We do try hard to create an unforgettable experience for each of our guests and are thrilled you rate us so highly of all your experiences along the East Coast of Australia.

We do look forward to hosting you again if you choose to travel back to Townsville sometime.

Kindest regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews